The Forum in the media – green investments, debt brake and income inequality

The 2021 federal election is approaching - and with it the question what the future of the German model may look like. The VIII New Paradigm Workshop provided food for thought and an outline of possible answers, which SZ, Spiegel and co picked up on. An overview.

 

What really should matter for the election campaign

The debate surrounding the Bundestag election campaign is still failing to embrace the really important topics, argues the Spiegel.The contributions at the VIII New Paradigm show which essential questions we should rather ask ourselves.

The Bundestag election campaign should be about more than short-haul flights and gender stars, writes Thomas Fricke. Corona debts, climate change and the increasing gap between winners and losers of globalization – the coming government must face up to major questions regarding the future. Among other things, it will have to take effective action against the widening gap between rich and poor in Germany, or the loss of control felt by many people. And then there is the climate crisis. Above all, the major question remains how future investments of the necessary magnitude shall be financed – especially in light of the German debt brake, which often seems untouchable.

Germany needs an investment offensive

The fact that Germany is suffering from an acute investment backlog is not something that has only been known since yesterday. However, the Corona pandemic renders the investment failures of recent years particularly visible, argue Cerstin Gammelin and Alexander Hagelüken in the SZ. They draw on studies commissioned by the Forum, which call for a more active role for the state – including higher government spending. In her study on the debt brake, Philippa Sigl-Glöckner of the “Dezernat Zukunft” therefore argues for reforming the government’s spending policy, away from a minimal debt ratio and toward a state policy that advocates for less unemployment, better wages and a reduction in involuntary part-time work. Her proposal to fundamentally reform the current fiscal rules was also picked up by The Pioneer.

More so, what becomes clearer and clearer is that the call for more investment does not suffice. Rather, it is crucial to distribute existing capital more fairly, write Gammelin and Hagelüken, citing a study commissioned by the Forum and conducted by Stefan Bach and Markus Grabka of the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW). The study finds that the gap between rich and poor in Germany keeps growing. To change this, the researchers propose strengthening collective agreements and a tax reform: “Companies are largely inherited tax-free. Instead of major exemptions, there should be a minimum tax of 15 percent.”

Toward greener paths

The urgent need for investment, especially in a far-reaching climate strategy, is also taken up by André Kühnlenz in Finanz&Wirtschaft, where he refers to two climate studies initiated by the Forum. Patrick Graichen of the Berlin-based think tank Agora Energiewende concludes that an increase in gross domestic product of 1.3% per year could save around 30 million tons of CO2 by 2045. The prerequisite: strong investment of up to 75 billion euros per year. Based on this, Mannheim economist Tom Krebs is calling for another 100 billion euros of investment in the development of a green hydrogen network. To this end, the federal government should establish a public hydrogen company. The strategically special thing about the proposal: since providing equity is considered a financial transaction, it would not reduce the government’s financial leeway under the debt brake.

The media resume: Politicians have a lot to think about in the election year 2021. The thought-provoking ideas, inspired by the numerous studies and contributions at the VIII New Paradigm Workshop, and seen in the media, can be found here:

The contributions to the VIII New Paradigm Workshop can be accessed HERE.

Press:
Spiegel
Süddeutsche Zeitung
The Pioneer (only with Pioneer account)
Finanz & Wirtschaft

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Das Forum in den Medien – Grüne Investitionen, Schuldenbremse und was wirklich gegen Ungleichheit hilft

Die Bundestagswahl 2021 naht – und damit die Frage, wie die Zukunft des deutschen Modells aussehen kann. Der VIII New Paradigm Workshop lieferte Denkanstöße, über die nun SZ, Spiegel und Co berichten. Ein Überblick.

 

Welche Themen im Wahlkampf wichtig sein sollten

Noch verfehlt die Debatte rund um den Bundestagswahlkampf die wirklich wichtigen Themen. Die Beiträge beim VIII New Paradigm Workshop zeigen, welche essentiellen Fragen wir uns stellen sollten, so argumentiert jüngst der Spiegel.

Im Bundestagswahlkampf sollte es um mehr gehen als Kurzstreckenflüge und Gendersternchen, schreibt dort Thomas Fricke. Corona Schulden, Klimawandel und das zunehmende Auseinanderdriften von Gewinnern und Verlierern der Globalisierung – die kommende Regierung muss sich großen Zukunftsfragen stellen. Unter anderem geht es darum, wirksam gegen die größer werdende Kluft zwischen Arm und Reich in Deutschland vorzugehen, oder den von vielen Menschen verspürten Kontrollverlust. Auch die Klimafrage drängt sich auf. Und vor allem steht da ein großes Fragezeichen: Wie sollen die Zukunftsinvestitionen finanziert werden, wenn in Deutschland an der Schuldenbremse am liebsten niemals gerüttelt werden darf?

Deutschland braucht Investitionsoffensive

Dass Deutschland unter einem akuten Investitionsstau leidet, das ist nicht erst seit gestern bekannt. Die Corona Pandemie macht die Investitionsversäumnisse der vergangenen Jahre nun besonders sichtbar, argumentieren Cerstin Gammelin und Alexander Hagelüken in der SZ. Sie stützen sich dabei auf vom Forum in Auftrag gegebene Studien, in denen eine aktivere Rolle des Staates gefordert wird – höhere Staatsausgaben inklusive. Philippa Sigl-Glöckner vom „Dezernat Zukunft“ plädiert in ihrer Studie zur Schuldenbremse deshalb dafür, die Ausgabenpolitik der Regierung zu reformieren, weg von einer minimalen Schuldenquote hin zu einer Staatspolitik, die sich für weniger Arbeitslose, bessere Löhne und einen Abbau unfreiwilliger Teilzeit einsetzt. Über ihren Vorschlag, die bisherigen Fiskalregeln grundlegend zu reformieren, berichtete zuletzt auch The Pioneer.

Klar wird auch: Neben dem Ruf nach mehr Investitionen darf nicht vergessen werden, bestehendes Kapital gerechter zu verteilen. Gammelin und Hagelüken zitieren hierzu eine vom Forum beauftragte Studie von Stefan Bach und Markus Grabka vom Deutschen Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung, die konstatieren, dass die Kluft zwischen Arm und Reich wächst. Um das zu ändern, schlagen sie mehr Tarifverträge und eine Steuerreform vor: „Firmen werden weitgehend steuerfrei vererbt. Statt großer Ausnahmen sollte es eine Mindeststeuer von 15 Prozent geben.“

Zu grüneren Pfaden

Die dringend nötigen Investitionen vor allem in eine weitreichende Klimastrategie werden auch von André Kühnlenz in der Finanz&Wirtschaft aufgegriffen. Kühnlenz beruft sich dabei auf zwei vom Forum initiierte Klimastudien. Patrick Graichen von der Berliner Denkschmiede Agora Energiewende kommt darin zum Schluss, dass bei einem Anstieg des Bruttoinlandprodukts von 1,3% pro Jahr bis 2045 rund 30 Mio. Tonnen CO2 eingespart werden können. Voraussetzung hierfür sind kräftige Investitionen von bis zu 75 Milliarden Euro pro Jahr. Der Mannheimer Ökonom Tom Krebs fordert darauf aufbauend weitere 100 Milliarden Euro Investitionen in den Aufbau eines grünen Wasserstoffnetzes. Dazu soll der Bund eine öffentliche Wasserstoffgesellschaft gründen. Das strategisch Besondere daran: Da die Bereitstellung des Eigenkapitals als finanzielle Transaktion gilt, würde sie nicht den finanziellen Spielraum der Schuldenbremse verringern.

Klar wird: Die Politik hat viel zu bedenken, im Wahljahr 2021. Alle Denkanstöße, angeregt durch die zahlreichen Studien und Beiträge beim VIII New Paradigm Workshop, und gesehen in den Medien, sind hier zu finden:

Die Beiträge des VIII New Paradigm Workshop finden Sie HIER.

 

Zu den Pressebeiträgen:

Spiegel
Süddeutsche Zeitung
The Pioneer (nur mit Abo)
Finanz & Wirtschaft

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.