A new economy – where are we?

Cornwall Consensus, Bidenomics, established economists calling for a new social contract - many things point to a change of course. But where do we really stand in the fall of 2021? This is the leading question of our IX New Paradigm Workshop.

 

Dear friends and colleagues,

Four years ago, when we held our first workshop in Edinburgh, Donald Trump was president of the United States, the United Kingdom was heading towards Brexit, and there were other rampant signs of a chaotic end to the liberal market era. Now Joe Biden is in power in the U.S., almost all international organizations are set on an orderly new course, and there are rumors of new beginnings in Germany, too – the keyword being “traffic light”.

Where are we standing in the fall of 2021? What is really new? At our ninth New Paradigm Workshop tomorrow, Wednesday, we will update you. At 11:15 a.m., Michael Jacobs and Diane Coyle will present proposals on potential common denominators for a new economic paradigm succeeding market liberalism  – for all those who no longer want the old one, and yet come from different directions. Plus: what is needed from a new generation of economists. Discussants include the chief economist of the German Federal Ministry of Finance, Jakob von Weizsäcker,as well as Maja Göpel, Antonella Stirati and the former head of the HWWI, Henning Vöpel. Wisely moderated by Jens Südekum.

With the director of the Aspen Institute, Stormy Mildner, we will talk about the attempt to develop a Cornwall Consensus after the Washington Consensus – as conceptualized and submitted by the German envoy and her colleagues, including Mariana Mazzucato and Thomas Philippon, on behalf of the G7 this summer. 10:30 a.m.

In between, there will be individual updates on how the new answers to each of the great challenges of our time are faring – with Rainer Kattel on the new role of the state, for example; with Tom Krebs on a new climate policy beyond the belief in the sole healing power of high CO2 prices; with Charlotte Bartels on the recipes against inequality; with Robert Gold on means against populism; and with Moritz Schularick on the influence of monetary policy on inequality.

Every great paradigm also needs a great guiding principle. A year ago, we showed that typical market buzzwords for the old market-liberal dogma are already in retreat. What was new in the election programs for the Bundestag this year – and how popular old and new narratives are – we tested in a Civey survey. The results will be available tomorrow at 3:15 p.m. exclusively as a Forum world premiere. Beforehand, Bochum-based economist Michael Roos will introduce us to the world of economic narratives – and the difficulty of modeling and measuring them. There will be inputs from Anatole Kaletsky as well as from William Lamb of MCC (on climate narratives).

That Americans as well as Britons are already thinking much more intensively about a new paradigm becomes palpable when one reads with how much verve the current head of the London School of Economics and former central banker, Minouche Shafik, advocates for a new social contract. She will discuss what she means by this tomorrow at 5:30 p.m. with Marcel Fratzscher of DIW Berlin and Xavier Ragot from OFCE Paris. The question that remains (for now) is whether Biden stands for a new economy, Bidenomics. Critical input on this tomorrow from Berkeley economist Barry Eichengreen – starting at 6:30 p.m. Discussants: Michael Burda and Sebastian Dullien.

It’s all about joining in – registration here.

See you tomorrow,

Thomas Fricke

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

A new economy – where are we?

Cornwall Consensus, Bidenomics, etablierte Ökonomen, die zu einem neuen Gesellschaftsvertrag aufrufen - vieles deutet auf einen Kurswechsel. Aber wo stehen wir wirklich im Herbst 2021? Dies ist die Leitfrage unseres IX New Paradigm Workshops.

 

Liebe Freunde, Kolleginnen und Kollegen,

als wir vor vier Jahren unseren ersten Workshop in Edinburgh hatten, war in den USA gerade Donald Trump Präsident, Großbritannien steuerte auf den Brexit zu, und auch sonst deutete einiges auf ein chaotisches Ende des marktliberalen Zeitalters hin. Jetzt regiert in den USA Joe Biden, die internationalen Organisationen sind fast alle auf geordnet neuem Kurs, und auch in Deutschland wird über Neues gemunkelt – Stichwort Ampel.

Wo stehen wir im Herbst 2021? Was ist wirklich neu? Auf unserem neunten New Paradigm Workshop werden wir am morgigen Mittwoch ein Update machen. Dabei werden Michael Jacobs und Diane Coyle um 11 Uhr 15 Vorschläge dazu vorstellen, was so ein neues wirtschaftliches Paradigma nach dem Marktliberalismus an gemeinsamen Nennern haben könnte – für alle, die das alte nicht mehr wollen, und doch aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen kommen. Und was eine neue Generation Ökonomen braucht. Zu den Diskutanten zählen der Chefvolkswirt des Bundesfinanzministeriums, Jakob von Weizsäcker, ebenso wie Maja Göpel, Antonella Stirati und der bisherige HWWI-Chef Henning Vöpel. In weiser Moderation geleitet von Jens Südekum.

Mit der Chefin des Aspen Institutes, Stormy Mildner, werden wir über den Versuch sprechen, nach dem Washington Consensus einen Cornwall Consensus zu entwickeln – so wie ihn die deutsche Gesandte und ihre Kollegen, darunter Mariana Mazzucato und Thomas Philippon, im Auftrag der G7 diesen Sommer entwickelt und unterbreitet haben. Um 10 Uhr 30.

Zwischendurch gibt es Einzel-Updates dazu, wie es um die neuen Antworten auf jede der großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit steht – mit Rainer Kattel zur neuen Rolle des Staates etwa; mit Tom Krebs zu einer neuen Klimapolitik jenseits des Glaubens an die Alleinheilkraft hoher CO2-Preise; mit Charlotte Bartels zu den Rezepten gegen Ungleichheit; mit Robert Gold zu Mitteln gegen Populismus; und mit Moritz Schularick zum Einfluss der Geldpolitik auf die Ungleichheit.

Jedes große Paradigma braucht auch große Leitsätze. Dass diese für das alte marktliberale Dogma bereits auf dem Rückzug sind, haben wir vor einem Jahr in einer Analyse von typischen Markt-Buzzwords dargelegt. Was dazu in den Wahlprogrammen zur Bundestagswahl steckte – und wie beliebt alte und neue Narrative sind – haben wir in einer Civey-Umfrage prüfen lassen. Die Ergebnisse gibt es morgen ab 15 Uhr 15 exklusiv als Forum-Weltpremiere. Zuvor führt uns der Bochumer Ökonom Michael Roos in die Gedankenwelt der wirtschaftlichen Narrative ein – und in die Schwierigkeit, sie zu modellieren und zu messen. Dazu gibt es Inputs von Anatole Kaletsky sowie von William Lamb von MCC (zu den Klima-Narrativen).

Dass Amerikaner wie Briten schon viel intensiver über ein neues Paradigma nachdenken, wird spürbar, wenn man liest, mit wie viel Verve die aktuelle Chefin der London School of Economics und frühere Notenbankerin, Minouche Shafik, für einen neuen Gesellschaftsvertrag eintritt. Was sie damit meint, wird sie morgen ab 17 Uhr 30 mit Marcel Fratzscher vom Berliner DIW und Xavier Ragot vom Pariser OFCE diskutieren. Bliebe (vorläufig) die Frage, ob Biden für eine neue Ökonomie, die Bidenomics, steht. Kritischer Einwurf dazu morgen von Berkeley-Ökonom Barry Eichengreen – ab 18 Uhr 30. Diskutanten: Michael Burda und Sebastian Dullien.

Dabei sein ist alles – Anmeldung hier.

Thomas Fricke

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.