THE STATE

Concerted Action - Preventing the Wage-Price Spiral? Short Cut Highlights

Chancellor Olaf Scholz has announced that he will bring together employers and unions in a "Concerted Action" to discuss tackling inflation. Can such an alliance prevent a wage-price spiral?

BY

MAREN BUCHHOLTZ

PUBLISHED

15. JUNE 2022

READING TIME

2 MIN.

Inflation in Germany is at record levels and warnings of an impending wage-price spiral are growing louder. Now Chancellor Olaf Scholz has announced that he will bring employers and unions together in a “Concerted Action” to discuss a course of action to tackle inflation. The Grand Coalition took a similar approach at the end of the 1960s to find a way out of the economic crisis at the time – with mixed success. Does an alliance between financial and wage policy promise more success this time? Can the current burdens be reduced in this way without Germany sliding into recession? And: what role does monetary policy play in the coordination process?

We discussed this in our New Economy Short Cut “Concerted Action – Preventing the Wage-Price Spiral?” with IW Director Michael Hüther and Anke Hassel (co-director of the Jacques Delors Centre at the Hertie School).

 

The idea of a “concerted action” to beat inflation

Michael Hüther introduced the discussion round with a historical classification of the concept of “concerted action”. The original idea for this was raised in the mid-1960s by the then Council of Economic Experts and taken up by the Minister of Economics, Karl Schiller, partly out of concern about a wage explosion. Joint coordination with a group of 20-30 participants from government, the Bundesbank, trade unions and business associations was supposed to lead to wage, monetary and fiscal policy working together towards the utilisation of production potential. In view of the major macroeconomic challenges and the four upcoming transformations (digitalisation, demographic change, decarbonisation, deglobalisation), he believes that such an initiative could be helpful in averting stagflation.

 

Anke Hassel then explained that the failure of the “concerted action” at the time was due to its lack of balance: the trade unions’ wage restraint had not been reciprocated by comparable concessions from other actors. This was another reason why the negotiation format could not work a short time later, during the oil price shocks in the early 1970s, when it was urgently needed. Later attempts at coordination in Germany, such as the “Alliance for Jobs”, were also not very successful overall. Similar formats in some European countries were nevertheless beneficial for the respective accession process to the European Union.

 

Key takeaways

In Hassel’s view, “concerted action” is not necessary in view of existing formats of the Federal Chancellery such as the “Alliance for Transformation”, especially as this carries the potential risk of limiting the trade unions’ scope for an offensive collective bargaining policy. Further initiatives that promote a closer exchange between the BMF and economists and company representatives would be welcome in principle. Hüther, on the other hand, promoted the idea of better macroeconomic coordination. In his opinion, it should not be about questioning the autonomy of collective bargaining. One-off payments or betterment vouchers were good instruments to support households that were currently suffering particularly from inflation. Both academics agreed that there were currently no signs of a wage-price spiral. They also advocated a deeper stocktaking of the causes of inflation, to which economic research institutes can contribute in any case.

 

The whole discussion as re-live *in German

ABOUT THE STATE

KNOWLEDGE BASE

For decades, there was a consensus that reducing the role of the state and cutting public debt would generate wealth. This contributed to a chronic underinvestment in education and public infrastructure. New research focuses on establishing when and how governments need to intervene to better contribute to long-term prosperity and to stabilize rather than aggravate economic fluctuations.

ARTICLE OVERVIEW

DER STAAT

Short Cut Highlights: Konzertierte Aktion - Die Lohn-Preis-Spirale verhindern?

Bundeskanzler Olaf Scholz hat angekündigt, in einer „Konzertierten Aktion“ Arbeitgeber und Gewerkschaften zusammenzubringen, um über ein Vorgehen gegen die Inflation zu beraten. Kann eine solche Allianz eine Lohn-Preis-Spirale verhindern?

VON

MAREN BUCHHOLTZ

VERÖFFENTLICHT

15. JUNI 2022

LESEDAUER

2 MIN.

Die Inflation in Deutschland liegt auf Rekordniveau und Warnungen vor einer drohenden Lohn-Preis-Spirale werden immer lauter. Nun hat Bundeskanzler Olaf Scholz angekündigt, in einer „Konzertierten Aktion“ Arbeitgeber und Gewerkschaften zusammenzubringen, um über ein Vorgehen gehen die Inflation zu beraten. Ähnlich ging die Große Koalition Ende der 1960er-Jahre vor, um einen Ausweg aus der damaligen Wirtschaftskrise zu finden – mit durchwachsenem Erfolg. Verspricht eine Allianz zwischen Finanz- und Tarifpolitik diesmal mehr Erfolg? Können so die Belastungen verringert werden, ohne dass Deutschland in die Rezession rutscht? Und: welche Rolle spielt die Geldpolitik im Abstimmungsprozess?

Darüber haben wir in unserem New Economy Short Cut “Konzertierte Aktion – Die Lohn-Preis-Spirale verhindern?” mit IW-Direktor Michael Hüther und Anke Hassel (Kodirektorin des Jacques Delors Centre an der Hertie School) diskutiert.

 

Die Idee der „konzertierten Aktion“ gegen die Inflation

Michael Hüther leitete die Gesprächsrunde mit einer historischen Einordnung des Begriffs der „konzertierten Aktion“ ein. Die ursprüngliche Idee dazu wurde Mitte der 1960er vom damaligen Sachverständigenrat aufgebracht und vom Wirtschaftsminister Karl Schiller aufgenommen, auch aus Sorge vor einer Lohn-Preis-Spirale. Eine gemeinsame Koordinierung mit einer Gruppe von 20-30 Teilnehmern aus Regierung, Bundesbank, Gewerkschaften und Unternehmensverbänden sollte dazu führen, dass Lohn-, Geld- und Finanzpolitik gemeinsam auf die Auslastung des Produktionspotentials hinarbeiten. Angesichts der großen makroökonomischen Herausforderungen und der vier anstehenden Transformationen (Digitalisierung, demographischer Wandel, Dekarbonisierung, Deglobalisierung) könnte eine solche Initiative nach seiner Einschätzung hilfreich sein, um die Stagflation abzuwenden.

 

Anschließend erläuterte Anke Hassel, dass der Misserfolg der damaligen „konzertierten Aktion“ in ihrer fehlenden Balance begründet war: die Lohnzurückhaltung der Gewerkschaften sei nicht durch vergleichbare Zugeständnisse von anderen Akteuren erwidert worden. Auch deshalb konnte das Verhandlungsformat dann kurze Zeit später, während der Ölpreisschocks Anfang der 1970er Jahre, als es dringlich gebraucht worden wäre, nicht wirken. Auch spätere Koordinierungsversuche in Deutschland wie etwa das „Bündnis für Arbeit“ seien insgesamt nicht sehr erfolgreich gewesen. Ähnliche Formate in einigen europäischen Staaten seien gleichwohl förderlich für den jeweiligen Beitrittsprozess zur Europäischen Union gewesen.

 

Die wichtigsten Takeaways

Nach Einschätzung von Hassel ist eine „konzertierte Aktion“ angesichts bestehender Formate des Bundeskanzleramts wie der „Allianz für Transformation“ nicht erforderlich, zumal diese die potenzielle Gefahr birgt, den Spielraum der Gewerkschaften für eine offensive Tarifpolitik einzuschränken. Weitere Initiativen, die einen engeren Austausch des BMF mit Ökonomen und Unternehmensvertretern fördern, seien grundsätzlich zu begrüßen. Hüther dagegen warb für die Idee einer besseren makroökonomischen Koordinierung. Nach seiner Einschätzung solle es nicht darum gehen, die Tarifautonomie in Frage zu stellen. Einmalzahlungen oder Besserungsscheine stellten gute Instrumente dar, um Haushalte, die aktuell besonders unter der Inflation litten, zu unterstützen. Beide Wissenschaftler waren sich einig, dass derzeit keine Anzeichen für eine Lohn-Preis-Spirale bestehen. Sie befürworten auch eine tiefergehende Bestandsaufnahme der Ursachen der Inflation, zu der Wirtschaftsforschungsinstitute in jedem Fall beitragen können.

 

Die gesamte Diskussion als Re-live

ZUM THEMA DER STAAT

KNOWLEDGE BASE

Jahrzehnte lang galt der Konsens, dass sich der Staat sich aus der Wirtschaft zurückziehen und man die Staatsschulden senken sollte, um den Wohlstand zu fördern. Dies hat jedoch zu chronischen Mängeln in Bildung und Infrastruktur geführt. Neuere Forschung versucht zu erörtern, wann es sinnvoll ist, dass sich der Staat in den Wirtschaftsprozess einmischt, um langanhaltenden Wohlstand zu garantieren und Krisen zu verhindern.

ÜBERSICHT ARTIKEL