Election analysis: Scholz’s respect formula appealed to voters

Election narratives of the SPD candidate for chancellor with very high approval ratings among the population / Core statements in the CDU program significantly less popular / Analysis of a Civey survey commissioned by the Forum New Economy

 

Press release, September 29, 2021

Election narratives of the SPD candidate for chancellor with very high approval ratings among the population / Core statements in the CDU program significantly less popular / Analysis of a Civey survey commissioned by Forum New Economy.

SPD candidate for chancellor Olaf Scholz apparently struck a stronger chord with the population than his competitors with his main messages in the election campaign. According to a survey conducted by pollster Civey on behalf of the Forum New Economy, 87 percent of respondents “tended to agree” or “strongly agreed” that there was a need for “more cohesion in our society” – and that this would only be possible “if we had respect for one another”. Almost 85 percent agreed with the Social Democrats’ statement that “protecting our livelihoods” requires technological and scientific progress as well as social progress. This puts both of Scholz’s messages at the top of a total of 30 narratives surveyed from the election programs of the six parties in the Bundestag.

The results suggest that there are also substantive reasons behind the renewed growth in support for the SPD in recent weeks, not just the mistakes of the competition. Around 2,500 people responded to the survey in recent weeks; the results reflect the state of play on election Sunday. The main purpose of the survey is to test the relevance of newer narratives using selected key phrases from the programs for the federal election.

It is striking that among the most popular ten quotes evaluated, none comes from the CDU program. According to the survey, the most popular of the selected CDU/CSU statements was the one according to which “participation takes precedence over redistribution” (71.4 percent); the formulation that “our children should inherit more opportunities instead of debts” was agreed with by a good 68 percent, either somewhat or completely.

According to the survey, the statement that all social and ecological promises “without a strong economic foundation” remain unaffordable dreams also received high approval (82.3 percent). Nearly 78 percent agreed rather or completely with the statement that there is a need for a state “that is strong because it acts lean and modern instead of complacent, old-fashioned and sluggish.” Both statements come from the FDP’s election platform.

The most popular ten narratives also include passages from the programs of the AfD (on “property protection, freedom of contract and competition” as “elementary components of a free and prosperous society”) and the Left Party (on the social contribution of “strong shoulders,” among other things). In tenth place was the formula from the Green Party program, according to which politics must now “invest in our common future.”

The survey is part of a project lasting several months, with which the Forum New Economy, in cooperation with the agency Scholz & Friends Agenda and the opinion research institute Civey, wants to sound out the approval and spread of previous and more recent economic policy and social narratives among the population. A basic statement from the election platform of each of the six parties on the image of society, the climate crisis, inequality, state debt and the understanding of the state was selected; the respondents could “tend to agree” or “clearly agree” or disagree with the statement.  A more detailed analysis of the results will follow at the end of October.

About Forum New Economy

The Forum is a non-partisan platform that has been seeking new answers and a new paradigm to solve the grand challenges of our time since October 2019. It supports innovative researchers and brings them together with practitioners and the public.

About Scholz&Friends Agenda

Scholz & Friends Agenda is an agenda setting and public relations agency based in Berlin and Brussels, specializing in socio-political communication.

About Civey

Founded in 2015, Civey is a technology company that today operates the largest panel for digital market and opinion data in Germany. At the interface between classical statistics and modern artificial intelligence, Civey analyzes representative data continuously and in real time. www.civey.com

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Wahlanalyse: Scholz‘ Respekt-Formel hat Wähler angesprochen

Wahlnarrative des SPD-Kanzlerkandidats mit sehr hohen Zustimmungswerten in der Bevölkerung / Kernaussagen im CDU-Programm deutlich weniger beliebt / Auswertung einer Civey-Umfrage im Auftrag des Forum New Economy

 

Pressemitteilung vom 29. September 2021

Wahlnarrative des SPD-Kanzlerkandidats mit sehr hohen Zustimmungswerten in der Bevölkerung / Kernaussagen im CDU-Programm deutlich weniger beliebt / Auswertung einer Civey-Umfrage im Auftrag des Forum New Economy

SPD-Kanzlerkandidat Olaf Scholz hat mit seinen Hauptbotschaften im Wahlkampf offenbar stärker den Nerv der Bevölkerung getroffen als seine Konkurrenten. Wie eine Umfrage der Meinungsforscher von Civey im Auftrag des Forums New Economy ergab, stimmten 87 Prozent der Befragten „eher“ oder „eindeutig“ zu, dass es „mehr Zusammenhalt in unserer Gesellschaft“ braucht – und es den nur gebe, „wenn wir Respekt voreinander haben“. Knapp 85 Prozent äußerten Zustimmung zu der Aussage der Sozialdemokraten, dass es „zum Schutz unserer Lebensgrundlagen“ sowohl technologischen und wissenschaftlichen, als auch sozialen Fortschritt brauche. Damit liegen beide Botschaften von Scholz an der Spitze von insgesamt 30 abgefragten Narrativen aus den Wahlprogrammen der sechs Bundestagsparteien.

Die Ergebnisse deuten darauf hin, dass hinter der wieder wachsenden Zustimmung zur SPD in den vergangenen Wochen auch inhaltliche Gründe liegen, nicht nur die Fehler der Konkurrenz. In der Befragung antworteten in den vergangenen Wochen rund 2500 Personen; die Ergebnisse spiegeln den Stand am Wahlsonntag. Hauptbestreben der Umfrage ist, die Relevanz neuerer Narrative anhand ausgewählter maßgeblicher Sätze aus den Programmen zur Bundestagswahl zu testen.

Auffällig ist, dass unter die populärsten zehn der ausgewerteten Zitate keins aus dem CDU-Programm kommt. Die beliebteste der ausgewählten Unions-Aussagen war der Umfrage zufolge jene, wonach „Teilhabe vor Umverteilung“ geht (71,4 Prozent); der Formulierung, dass „unsere Kinder mehr Chancen statt Schulden“ erben sollten, stimmten gut 68 Prozent eher oder vollständig zu.

Hohe Zustimmung erhielt der Umfrage zufolge mit 82,3 Prozent auch die Aussage, wonach alle sozialen und ökologischen Versprechungen „ohne ein starkes wirtschaftliches Fundament“ unfinanzierbare Träume bleiben. Knapp 78 Prozent stimmten eher oder vollständig der Aussage zu, dass es einen Staat braucht, „der stark ist, weil er schlank und modern agiert statt selbstzufrieden, altmodisch und träge“. Beide Aussagen stammen aus dem Wahlprogramm der FDP.

Unter den beliebtesten zehn Narrativen sind auch Passagen aus den Programmen von AfD (zu „Eigentumsschutz, Vertragsfreiheit und Wettbewerb“ als „elementare Bestandteile einer freiheitlichen und prosperierenden Gesellschaft“) sowie Links-Partei (unter anderem zum gesellschaftlichen Beitrag „starker Schultern“). Auf Platz zehn landete die Formel aus dem Grünen-Programm, nach der die Politik jetzt „in unsere gemeinsame Zukunft investieren“ müsse.

Die Befragung ist Teil eines mehrmonatigen Projekts, mit dem das Forum New Economy in Zusammenarbeit mit der Agentur Scholz & Friends Agenda und dem Meinungsforschungsinstitut Civey ausloten will, welche Zustimmung und Verbreitung bisherige und neuere wirtschaftspolitische und gesellschaftliche Narrative in der Bevölkerung erfahren. Dabei wurde jeweils eine Grundaussage aus dem Wahlprogramm jeder der sechs Parteien zum Gesellschaftsbild, zur Klimakrise, zur Ungleichheit, zu staatlichen Schulden und zum Staatsverständnis ausgewählt; die Befragten konnten der Aussage „eher“ oder „eindeutig“ zustimmen oder nicht zustimmen.  Eine ausführlichere Auswertung der Ergebnisse wird Ende Oktober folgen.

Über Forum New Economy

Das Forum ist eine überparteiliche Plattform, die seit Oktober 2019 neue Antworten und ein neues Paradigma zur Lösung der großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit sucht. Es unterstützt innovative Forscher und bringt sie mit Praktikern und der Öffentlichkeit zusammen.

Über Scholz&Friends Agenda

Scholz & Friends Agenda ist eine Agentur für Agenda Setting und Public Relations mit Sitz in Berlin und Brüssel, die auf gesellschaftspolitische Kommunikation spezialisiert ist.

Über Civey

Civey ist ein 2015 gegründetes Technologieunternehmen, das heute das größte Panel für digitale Markt- und Meinungsdaten in Deutschland betreibt. An der Schnittstelle zwischen klassischer Statistik und moderner Künstlicher Intelligenz analysiert Civey repräsentative Daten fortlaufend und in Echtzeit. www.civey.com

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.