Makronom Series on the Relationship between the Market and the State in the Post-Corona Age.

COVID19 and the climate crises, growing inequality and financial market stability: almost everywhere, the relationship between markets and governments needs to be re-examined. A review of the series in the online magazine Makronom.

 

“The provision of public goods is one of the core tasks of the state. In addition, the state takes over tasks in the market economy, among other things, where the market fails or produces politically undesirable results,” writes Makronom editor Susanne Erbe in the lead article of the recently published series.

Here, we briefly introduce three of articles from the Makronom series. You can find the complete series – here.

 

Government spending during the great transformation, by Richard Sturn

 

In his article on the future role of the state, Richard Sturn asks how state mismanagement can be avoided and what the prerequisites are for a state that is capable of acting.

According to Sturn, “neither state faith nor fundamental state skepticism […] are good starting points for a socio-economically beneficial role of the public sector.” In the spirit of a new paradigm, Sturn demands that state action must not suffer from the syndrome of state faith, state skepticism, legitimacy dilemma, prevention paradox and the resulting erosion of trust. Otherwise, public debt and money supply “become” crisis drivers – and the government sector itself becomes a problem (a weight) instead of a driver.”

Looking forward, Sturn demands that the public-private interface in our innovation systems be transformed from a weak link to a driver. Citing the work of Mariana Mazzucato, Sturn argues that too narrow, static confinement of the state’s portfolio of actions has serious drawbacks. As a result, the state often becomes the pawn in the hands of private monopolistic interest groups, which in turn leads to distributional conflicts.

“The challenges of complex, forward-looking state tasks are not escaped by outsourcing these tasks to the private sector, but by the difficult further development of instruments and mechanisms of political accountability under uncertainty,” says the professor of innovation, development and growth at the University of Graz.

 

How to dispose of Corona debt, by Helmut Reisen.

 

Public debt in the EU has grown enormously in the wake of the Corona crisis. In this article, ex-OECD Research Director Helmut Reisen analyzes the possible options to reduce government debt again.

Conclusion: Whether austerity policies, debt cuts or financial repression, every form of debt consolidation produces winners and losers. While a combination of different instruments is possible, this process will require some democratic work on the part of our society. The task is to balance this democratic process in the best possible way.

 

The modern state on a mission to the future by Tom Krebs

 

A modern state is needed to deal with the climate crisis in an effective and socially just way, writes Mannheim-based economist Tom Krebs in the article based on a forthcoming study commissioned by the Forum New Economy.

Tom Krebs describes what such a modern state and the basic features of modern climate policy could look like – here.

 

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Makronom-Serie zum Verhältnis von Markt und Staat im Post-Corona-Zeitalter

Corona- und Klimakrise, wachsende Ungleichheit und Finanzmarktstabilität: fast überall geht es darum, das Verhältnis von Markt und Staat neu auszuloten. Dokumentation einer Serie im Online-Magazin Makronom.

 

„Die Versorgung mit öffentlichen Gütern gehört zu den Kernaufgaben des Staates. Darüber hinaus übernimmt der Staat in der Marktwirtschaft unter anderem dort Aufgaben, wo der Markt versagt oder politisch unerwünschte Ergebnisse hervorbringt,“ schreibt Makronom Redakteurin Susanne Erbe im Leitartikel der kürzlich erschienen Serie.

Drei der Artikel aus der Makronom-Serie möchten wir hier kurz vorstellen. Die komplette Serie finden sie – hier.

 

Staatsausgaben in der großen Transformation, von Richard Sturn

 

In seinem Beitrag zur zukünftigen Rolle des Staates fragt Richard Sturn, wie staatliche Fehlentwicklungen vermieden werden können und was die Voraussetzungen für einen handlungsfähigen Staat sind.

Laut Sturn sind „weder Staatsgläubigkeit noch fundamentale Staatsskepsis […] gute Ausgangspunkte für eine sozio-ökonomisch vorteilhafte Rolle des öffentlichen Sektors“. Ganz im Sinne eines neuen Paradigmas fordert Sturn, dass staatliches Handeln nicht unter dem Syndrom aus Staatsgläubigkeit, Staatsskepsis, Legitimationsdilemma, Präventionsparadoxon und der daraus erwachsenden Vertrauenserosion leiden darf. Ansonsten werden“ öffentliche Verschuldung und Geldversorgung zu Krisentreibern – und der Staatssektor wird selbst zum Problem (zum Bleigewicht) anstatt zum Motor.“

Mit Blick nach vorne verlangt Sturn, dass vor allem die Schnittstelle öffentlich-privat in unseren Innovationssystemen von einer Schwachstelle zu einem Antreiber umgestaltet werden sollte. Mit Verweis auf die Arbeiten von Mariana Mazzucato argumentiert Sturn, dass eine zu enge, statische Eingrenzung des staatlichen Handlungsportfolios gravierende Nachteile birgt. Der Staat wird so oft zum Spielball von privat-monopolistischen Interessengruppen, was wiederum zu Verteilungskonflikten führt.

„Den Herausforderungen komplexer, zukunftsgerichteter Staatsaufgaben entkommt man nicht durch privatwirtschaftliche Auslagerung dieser Aufgaben, sondern durch die schwierige Weiterentwicklung von Instrumenten und Mechanismen politischer Accountability unter Ungewissheit“, so der Professor für Innovation, Entwicklung und Wachstum an der Universität Graz.

 

Wie sich die Corona-Schulden entsorgen lassen, von Helmut Reisen

 

Die Staatsschulden in der EU sind im Zuge der Corona-Krise enorm gestiegen. In diesem Beitrag analysiert Ex-OECD Forschungsdirektor Helmut Reisen die möglichen Optionen, um die Staatsverschuldung wieder zu reduzieren.

Fazit: Ob Austeritätspolitik, Schuldenschnitt oder finanzielle Repression, jede Form der Schuldenkonsolidierung bringt Gewinner und Verlierer hervor. Zwar ist eine Kombination von verschiedenen Instrumenten möglich, jedoch wird dieser Prozess unserer Gesellschaft einiges an demokratischer Arbeit abverlangen. Es gilt diesen demokratischen Prozess bestmöglich auszutarieren.

 

Der moderne Staat auf Zukunftsmission von Tom Krebs

 

Es braucht einen modernen Staat, um der Klimakrise effektiv und sozial gerecht zu begegnen, schreibt der Mannheimer Ökonom Tom Krebs in dem Beitrag, der auf einer bald erscheinenden Studie im Auftrag des Forum New Economy basiert.

 

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.