“Mission Economy: A Moonshot Guide to Changing Capitalism”

To solve the most pressing problems of our time, the role of the state must be rethought, argues Mariana Mazzucato in her latest book. We invited her to discuss the "mission economy" and its practical relevance for Germany with Wolfgang Schmidt.

 

New Economy Short Cut: “Mission Economy: A Moonshot Guide to Changing Capitalism” with Mariana Mazzucato und Wolfgang Schmidt

October 19, 2021 at 11am CEST via Zoom

In her latest book, Mission Economy, Mariana Mazzucato argues that we must rethink the capacities and role of government within the economy and society, and above all recover a sense of public purpose.

To solve the massive crises facing us, she is convinced we must use collaborative, mission-oriented thinking by using a stakeholder view of public private partnerships. We need to think bigger and mobilize our resources in a way that is as bold and inspirational as the moon landing—this time to tackle the most ‘wicked’ social problems of our time.

In Germany, the fundamental idea of mission-oriented thinking and policies is increasingly met with openness: The Commission of Experts for Research and Innovation (EFI) has recently advised the German Federal Government to adopt mission-oriented thinking as a new policy approach for research & innovation in view of major societal challenges. Earlier this year, SPD candidate for chancellor and Finance Minister Olaf Scholz started the electoral campaign with a commitment to a mission-oriented economic policy.

We are therefore delighted that Mariana has accepted to present the main ideas of “Mission Economy” and discuss its practical relevance for Germany with Wolfgang Schmidt, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Finance.

You can register for the event here.

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

“Mission Economy: A Moonshot Guide to Changing Capitalism”

Um die drängendsten Probleme unserer Zeit zu lösen, muss die Rolle des Staates neu gedacht werden, argumentiert Mariana Mazzucato in ihrem jüngsten Buch. Wir haben sie eingeladen, mit Wolfgang Schmidt über die "Mission Economy" und ihre praktische Relevanz für Deutschland zu diskutieren.

 

 New Economy Short Cut: “Mission Economy: A Moonshot Guide to Changing Capitalism” mit Mariana Mazzucato und Wolfgang Schmidt

 19.10.21 um 11 Uhr MEZ via Zoom

In ihrem neuesten Buch „Mission Economy“ plädiert Mariana Mazzucato dafür, die Kapazitäten und die Rolle des Staates in Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft neu zu denken, um insbesondere den Sinn für öffentliche Aufgaben (Purpose) wiederzufinden.

Mazzucato ist davon überzeugt, dass zur Lösung der massiven Krisen, mit denen wir konfrontiert sind, ein kollaboratives, missionsorientiertes Denken unabdingbar ist. Dafür sei eine Stakeholder-Sicht auf öffentlich-private Partnerschaften notwendig. Wir müssten in größeren Dimensionen denken und unsere Ressourcen auf eine Art und Weise mobilisieren, die so kühn und inspirierend sei wie die Mondlandung – dieses Mal, um die größten sozialen Probleme unserer Zeit anzugehen.

In Deutschland stößt der Grundgedanke des missionsorientierten Denkens und Handelns zunehmend auf Offenheit: Die Expertenkommission Forschung und Innovation (EFI) hat der Bundesregierung kürzlich empfohlen, angesichts der großen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen das Missionsdenken als neuen Politikansatz für Forschung und Innovation zu übernehmen. Der SPD-Kanzlerkandidat und Finanzminister Olaf Scholz ist Anfang des Jahres mit einem Bekenntnis zu einer missionsorientierten Wirtschaftspolitik in den Wahlkampf gezogen.

Wir freuen uns daher sehr, dass Mariana zugesagt hat, die Grundgedanken der „Mission Economy“ vorzustellen und mit Wolfgang Schmidt, Staatssekretär im Bundesfinanzministerium, über ihre praktische Relevanz für Deutschland zu diskutieren.

Hier geht es zur Anmeldung. Veranstaltungssprache ist Englisch.

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.