The Prudence Principle

In the first episode of our New Economy interview series, Marc Blyth and Eric Lonergan introduce the idea behind their Forum Working Paper for a revised Eurozone fiscal policy framework.

 

The New Economy interview series is our newest content format, where we invite leading economists to share their views on the most relevant and current issues facing economics and the global economy in short interviews.

In the first episode, we were joined by MARC BLYTH (Brown University) and ERIC LONERGAN (M&G Investments) who introduced the Prudence Principle to us, the idea behind their vision for a new and more transparent framework for Eurozone fiscal policy. The concept is laid out in more detail in their recently published Forum New Economy Working Paper.

We speak about the idea behind the prudence principle, why Eric and Marc think that we do not need to be afraid of wage price spirals, but financial markets are still nervous towards them, and why central banks should get out of asset supporting and instead focus on income supporting.

You can watch the whole interview here:

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Das Voraussichtsprinzip

In der ersten Folge unserer Interviewreihe zur New Economy stellen Marc Blyth und Eric Lonergan die Idee hinter ihrem Forum Working Paper für einen überarbeiteten finanzpolitischen Rahmen für die Eurozone vor.

 

Die New Economy Interview Series ist unser neuestes Format, in dem wir führende Wirtschaftswissenschaftler einladen, in kurzen Interviews ihre Ansichten zu den wichtigsten und aktuellsten Fragen der Wirtschaft und der Weltwirtschaft zu erläutern.

In der ersten Folge waren MARC BLYTH (Brown University) und ERIC LONERGAN (M&G Investments) bei uns zu Gast. Gemeinsam haben sie uns das Voraussichtsprinzip vorstellten, die Idee hinter ihrer Vision eines neuen und transparenteren Rahmens für die Finanzpolitik der Eurozone. Das Konzept wird in ihrem kürzlich erschienenen Forum New Economy Working Paper ausführlicher dargelegt.

Wir sprechen über die Idee des Voraussichtsprinzips, darüber, warum Eric und Mark der Meinung sind, dass eine Angst vor Lohnpreisspiralen unbegründet ist, Finanzmärkte aber dennoch nervös sind, und darüber, warum Zentralbanken sich statt auf Assets lieber auf die Stärkung von Einkommen konzentrieren sollten.

Das gesamte Interview gibt es hier: