New Economy Short Cut – Italy: Europe´s basket case?

In a new edition of our New Economy Short Cut series, Philipp Heimberger and Daniel Stelter have discussed the case of Italy.

 

Do Italians have an almost unrestrained penchant for running up debts? Are the country’s problems all home-made? And are Italians actually richer than Germans? So why is Germany helping Italy? Whenever there is turbulence on the financial markets in Europe – as with the Corona outbreak – these and similar speculations come up in Germany – and the suspicion persists that Italy simply does not fit in with the northern European stability culture.

In his “Campaign Against Italy Nonsense” Viennese economist Philipp Heimberger has tried to explain what lies behind those clichés. He concludes that much of what is said and written about Italy in Germany is based on distorted assumptions and misleading narratives. We invited Heimberger to discuss this with Daniel Stelter – one of the economists who has been most vocal in recent months about describing Italians as relatively rich, who should rather save themselves. But what does the data say?

Rewatch the session here:

 

The slides of Philipp Heimberger:

The slides of Daniel Stelter:

Philipp Heimberger is an economist at the Vienna Institute for International Economic Studies. He holds a PhD in economics from the Vienna University of Economics and Business and his research focuses on macroeconomics, public economics and international economics. With his twitter Campaign Against Italy Nonsense #CAIN, he wants to counter myths Italy’s economy and state.

Daniel Stelter is the founder of the forum and blog beyond the obvious, specialized on macroeconomic topics. After receiving his PhD from the University of St. Gallen, he has worked as a consultant for The Boston Consulting Group until 2013. He is author of books and columns on different economic topics.

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

New Economy Short Cut – Italien: der hoffnungslose Fall Europas?

In einer neuen Ausgabe unserer Reihe New Economy Short Cut haben Philipp Heimberger und Daniel Stelter über Italien diskutiert.

 

Haben Italiener einen schier ungebremsten Hang zum Schuldenmachen? Sind die Probleme des Landes alle hausgemacht? Und sind die Leute in Italien in Wahrheit reicher als die Deutschen? Warum hilft Deutschland dann Italien? Immer wenn es – wie beim Ausbruch von Corona – zu Turbulenzen an den Finanzmärkten in Europa kommt, kommen in Deutschland diese und ähnliche Mutmaßungen hoch – und die Vermutung hält sich wacker, dass Italien einfach nicht zur nordeuropäischen Stabilitätskultur passt.

Der Wiener Ökonom Philipp Heimberger hat in seiner „Campaign Against Italy Nonsense“ versucht darzulegen, was hinter den Klischees steckt. Sein Fazit: ein Großteil dessen, was in Deutschland über Italien gesagt und geschrieben werde, beruhe auf verzerrten Annahmen und irreführenden Narrativen. Wir haben Heimberger eingeladen, darüber mit Daniel Stelter zu diskutieren – einem der Ökonomen, die in den vergangenen Monaten am lautstärksten dabei waren, wenn es darum ging, die Italiener als relativ Reiche zu beschreiben, die sich besser selbst retten sollten. Was also sagen die Daten?

Die vollständige Diskussion können Sie hier anschauen:

 

Die Vortragsfolien von Philipp Heimberger:

Die Vortragsfolien von Daniel Stelter:

Philipp Heimberger ist Ökonom am Wiener Institut für Internationale Wirtschaftsvergleiche. Er hat an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien promoviert und seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Makroökonomie, öffentliche Wirtschaft und internationale Wirtschaft. Mit seiner Twitter Kampagne #CAIN (Campaign Against Italy Nonsense) will er Mythen über Italiens Wirtschaft und Staat entgegentreten.

Daniel Stelter ist der Gründer des Forums und Blogs beyond the obvious, das sich auf Strategie und Makroökonomie spezialisiert hat. Nach seiner Promotion an der Universität St. Gallen war er bis 2013 Unternehmensberater bei The Boston Consulting Group, zuletzt als Senior Partner. Er ist Autor von mehreren Büchern und Kolumnen zu verschiedenen Wirtschaftsthemen.

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.