The Economic Anti-Consensus

In a recent Project syndicate contribution, renowned economists share why a 'business as usual' approach to economic policy can no longer be an option.

 

In a recently published Project Syndicate Big Picture“, renowned economists share their perspectives on the current discourse on the self-image of economic science and the need for a departure from the status quo.

According to Kaushik Basu, the world economy and capitalism are at a crossroads. The Covid 19 pandemic and the increasingly visible consequences of climate change require new economic thinking. This was also emphasised at the 19th World Congress of the International Economic Association (IEA). In order to develop sustainable solutions, it is essential to become even more aware than before of the assumptions of economic models, some of which are implicit. James K. Galbraith presents a series of new books that deal with the history of economic thinking. Alicia Sasser Modestino and Dani Rodrik argue that in order to better position economics for the future, it is necessary to become aware of the lack of diversity in the discipline and the resulting distorting effect on research.

Eric Posner disagrees with the Wall Street Journal article by Casey B. Mulligan and Tomas J. Philipson of the University of Chicago, in which they identify a supposed government failure in the US. Nouriel Roubini describes Biden’s economic agenda as a break with the neoliberal paradigm of the last decades under Clinton, Bush and Obama. This is reflected in a more expansive fiscal policy, more progressive taxation, stronger regulation, more protectionist trade policies and ambitious industrial policies. Anne Krueger warns of the growing social divide in the United States that threatens modern achievements, such as the vaccination against Covid-19, which was produced in record time. In her opinion, this should be taken into account when developing new economic concepts.

There seems to be a growing number of voices calling for a paradigm shift. For instance, a G7 advisory body, the Economic Resilience Panel, published a 1.5-page document with political guidelines, the “Cornwall Consensus”, in addition to its policy recommendations on the occasion of the G7 summit in June 2021. Among other things, it calls on the G7 to strengthen the principle of solidarity, promote the common good and respond more decisively to economic crises, coercion and market distortions. As Gillian Tett points out in the Financial Times, this could be seen not only as a temporary reaction to the pandemic, but as a signal of a real ideological shift.

Read the whole article here.

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Der ökonomische Anti-Konsensus

In einem aktuellen Beitrag des Project Syndicate erläutern renommierte Ökonomen, warum ein wirtschaftlichspolitischer "Business as usual"-Ansatz keine Option mehr sein kann.

 

In einem vor kurzem veröffentlichen Project Syndicate „Big Picture“ teilen renommierte Wirtschaftswissenschaftler ihre Perspektiven auf den aktuellen Diskurs zum Selbstverständnis der ökonomischen Wissenschaft und der Notwendigkeit für eine Abkehr vom Status Quo.

Nach Ansicht von Kaushik Basu befinden sich die Weltwirtschaft und der Kapitalismus an einem Wendepunkt. Die Covid-19-Pandemie und die zunehmend sichtbaren Folgen des Klimawandels erforderten ein neues ökonomisches Denken. Dies sei auch beim 19. Weltkongress der International Economic Association (IEA) hervorgehoben worden. Um zukunftsfähige Lösungen zu entwickeln, sei es zentral, sich noch stärker als bisher der teilweise implizit getroffenen Annahmen ökonomischer Modelle bewusst zu werden. Genau dies tun vier kürzlich erschienene Bücher, die James K. Galbraith in seinem Beitrag vorstellt. Er problematisiert darin den fehlenden Willen zur Selbstreflexion der Ökonomik. Alicia Sasser Modestino und Dani Rodrik machen auf die mangelnde Diversität in der Disziplin und die daraus resultierende verzerrende Auswirkung auf die Forschung aufmerksam.

Eric Posner widerspricht dem Artikel von Casey B. Mulligan and Tomas J. Philipson von der University of Chicago im Wall Street Journal, in dem sie ein vermeintliches Staatsversagen in den USA identifizieren. Nouriel Roubini beschreibt Bidens ökonomische Agenda als einen Bruch mit dem neoliberalen Paradigma der letzten Jahrzehnte unter Clinton, Bush und Obama. Dies zeige sich in einer expansiveren Fiskalpolitik, progressiveren Besteuerung, stärkeren Regulierung, protektionistischeren Handelspolitik und ambitionierten Industriepolitik. Anne Krueger warnt vor der zunehmenden gesellschaftlichen Spaltung in den Vereinigten Staaten, die moderne Errungenschaften, wie etwa die in Rekordzeit hergestellten Impfung gegen Covid-19, gefährdeten. Ihrer Meinung nach sollte dies bei der Entwicklung neuer ökonomische Konzepte mitgedacht werden.

Es scheinen sich die Stimmen zu mehren, die einen Paradigmenwechsel fordern. So veröffentlichte das G7-Beratergremium „Economic Resilience Panel“ neben seinen Politikempfehlungen zum Anlass des G7-Gipfels im Juni 2021 ein 1,5-seitiges Dokument mit politischen Leitlinien, den „Cornwall Consensus“. Darin werden die G7 u.a. dazu aufgefordert, das Prinzip der Solidarität zu stärken, das Gemeinwohl zu fördern und entschiedener auf Wirtschaftskrisen, Zwang und Marktverzerrungen zu antworten. Man könnte darin, wie Gillian Tett in der Financial Times ausführt, nicht nur eine temporäre Reaktion auf die Pandemie, sondern ein Signal für eine tatsächliche ideologische Trendumkehr sehen.

Den gesamten Artikel zum Nachlesen – hier.

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.