Quick & New: New Zealand is moving past economic growth

While most countries base their annual budget on the economic benefits and the impact on growth and productivity, New Zealand takes another route.

Credit: Dan Whitfield
 

New Zealand’s Prime Minister Jacinda Adern is breaking new ground with the federal budget. While the allocation of funds is otherwise geared to the potential for economic growth and productivity gains, the New Zealand budget is geared to new parameters.

New guidelines for the budget make it clear that all new expenditures must address five identified problem areas: Reducing child poverty, improving mental health, reducing inequalities faced by indigenous peoples such as the Maori, adapting to a digitalised world and transforming towards a sustainable low-carbon economy.

In this way, Adern wants to lead New Zealand into a time in which the well-being of the people is the focus of government action. The long-term goal here is supposed to be the realisation of a subsistence economy.

See the full article here: The London Economic

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Quick & New: Neuseeland in der Post-Wachstumsphase

Während die meisten Länder ihren jährlichen Haushalt an dem ökonomischen Nutzen und den Auswirkungen auf Wachstum und Produktivität ausrichten, geht Neuseeland einen anderen Weg.

Credit: Dan Whitfield

Neuseelands Premierministerin Jacinda Adern geht neue Wege mit dem Bundeshaushalt. Während die Allokation von Geldern sonst an den Potenzialen für ökonomisches Wachstum und Produktivitätsgewinne ausgerichtet werden, richtet sich der Neuseeländische Haushalt an neuen Parametern aus.

Neue Richtlinien für das Budget verdeutlichen, dass alle neuen Ausgaben fünf identifizierte Problembereiche adressieren müssen: Die Verringerung von Kinderarmut, Verbesserung von psychischer Gesundheit, die Verringerung von Ungleichheiten denen indigene Bevölkerungsteile wie die Maori ausgesetzt sind, die Adaption zu einer digitalisierten Welt und die Transformation hin zu einer nachhaltigen und kohlenstoffarmen Ökonomie.

Damit will Adern Neuseeland in eine Zeit überführen, in der das Wohlbefinden der Menschen im Fokus des staatlichen Handelns steht. Das langfristige Ziel soll die Verwirklichung einer subsistenten Wirtschaft sein.

Zum vollständigen Artikel in: The London Economic

 

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.