Coalition agreement 2021-2025: Additional financial leeway for future investments?

The coalition agreement is here. Do the targeted fiscal policy instruments allow sufficient leeway for the necessary climate and other investments in the future? Tom Krebs and Janek Steitz with an assessment.

 

Text and analysis by Tom Krebs (University of Mannheim, Forum New Economy) and Janek Steitz (Agora Energiewende)

The coalition agreement of the traffic light parties essentially contains three financial policy instruments for public financing of climate and other future investments. First, the financing of public investments by strengthening the equity base of public companies and the credit financing of investments by these companies. Second, the promotion of private investments in the future by expanding existing KfW programs and reducing climate-damaging subsidies. Thirdly, the use of the exemption from the debt brake in 2021 and 2022 to finance the crisis-related additional spending in the coming years by building up reserves. In addition, the coalition agreement calls for an adjustment or further development of the cyclical adjustment procedure on the basis of scientific findings. In this way, the traffic light parties have taken up the main proposals of Krebs, Graichen and Steitz (2021) and thus created the fiscal policy prerequisite for a modernization decade.

Rough estimate of additional scope due to KoaV 2022-2025 measures

Fiscal
Measure coalition agreement
Additional leeway
2022-2025
Comment
a. Further development of KfW into an innovation and investment agency n/a Expanding the Future Fund and KfW’s tried-and-tested promotional instruments (e.g. low-interest loans with subsidies) can make a significant contribution to leveraging private investment. Strengthening KfW’s equity base is neutral in terms of the debt brake.

 

b. Strengthening of public companies (e.g. DB or BlmA) through financial transactions Around EUR 25 billion Financial transactions by the federal and state governments (e.g., strengthening of equity capital) and borrowing by public-sector companies can cover part of the investment needs in the climate sector in the period 2022-2025. If 1/4 of the needs identified in Krebs and Steitz (2021) (federal and local governments) are financed in this way, there is additional scope of around EUR 25 billion for 2022-2025.

 

c. Adjustment of the overall repayment schedule of pandemic related public debt in accordance with NGEU Around EUR 6 billion If the Corona related repayment obligations from 2020 do not start from 2023 as previously planned, but instead start from 2026 (or later), this can create additional leeway.

 

d. Adjustment of the accounting of special assets within the debt rule n/a Does not create leeway per se, but is a prerequisite for establishing a reserve in the new Climate and Transformation Fund under the debt brake exception clause (see d. and e.), which can then be used in a debt brake-neutral manner over the course of the legislative session.

 

e. Earmarked filling of the new Climate and Transformation Fund with unused credit from 2021. Up to EUR 65 billion  

In its 2021/2022 annual report, the German Council of Economic Experts expects a budget deficit of just under EUR 175 billion. According to the supplementary budget 2021, the authorization for permissible net borrowing is EUR 240 billion for 2021. The unused borrowing authorization is to be transferred to the Climate and Transformation Fund in accordance with the coalition agreement, taking into account that there must be a connection to the Corona pandemic (see comments below).

 

f. Consideration of increasing the Climate and Transformation Fund under the 2022 emergency rule n/a As long as links to the Corona pandemic can be established, further increases should be possible.
g. Evaluation and, if necessary, adjustment of the cyclical component of the debt brake Around EUR 30 billion (if new regulation takes effect from 2023) See Krebs/Steitz/Graichen (2021); assuming that the federal government commits to a sustainable growth-friendly economic policy and takes structural measures (e.g. investment in infrastructure or raising the minimum wage).
h. Implementation of suitable projects within the framework of Public-private-Partnerships n/a Difficult to estimate; possibly in hydrogen infrastructure.
i. Reduction of superfluous, ineffective and climate damaging subsidies and expenditures Up to 30 billion euros It is unclear how ambitious the reduction of climate-damaging investments will be; only the abolition of the diesel privilege is explicitly addressed. Potential for reducing “superfluous” expenditures uncertain. Cautious estimate total: EUR 30 billion.

 

j. One-time contribution to reduce legacy debts of municipalities Up to 20 billion euros Financing instrument unclear; possible one-time allocation to a legacy debt fund in 2022.

 

TOTAL 176 bn. euros + X Around 45 billion / year; including funds already made available, it should be possible to launch the necessary investments within the LP20 – subject, however, to the proviso that the formation of reserves (e. and f.) is legally feasible.

 

Notes

Federal public investment

Financing of the necessary federal investments is secured by the instruments we have proposed and mentioned in the coalition agreement (strengthening the equity base of public enterprises and the borrowing capacity of public enterprises). In this area, structural measures will be particularly important for successful implementation: Focus on the core business (offering public infrastructure and public services domestically), effective management organization and direct control by the owner (the public sector).

In addition, it should be noted that the Federal Employment Agency needs additional funding and a certain financial reserve in order to adequately fulfill the additional tasks mentioned in the coalition agreement (investing in people). This means, among other things, that – as proposed in our study — the federal government should partially compensate for the losses suffered by the BA in the Corona crisis (additional crisis-related expenditures) of almost 30 billion euros through a one-time allocation. Important: This does not require the accumulation of reserves – this is therefore innocuous under constitutional law.

Promoting private investment

The EKFs should be transformed into a climate and transformation fund. It makes economic sense to use reserves not used in 2021 and possibly additional reserves from 2022 to finance the fund. From a constitutional point of view, it is important to establish a direct or final causation link between the Corona crisis and the expenditures financed with the reserves – see the expert opinion of the Scientific Service “Emergency Debt of the Federal Government and the Länder” of November 22, 2021. However, such a link is given for the financing of the reduction of the EEG levy and part of the future climate investments, as we argue in our study.

The dismantling of climate-damaging subsidies should take place independently of the financing issue. This is because the promotion of climate-friendly investments has a particularly strong steering effect if climate-damaging subsidies are reduced at the same time.

It is important to note that the EEG levy is to be financed from 01.01.2023 via the climate and transformation fund using budget funds (revenues BEHG and ETS and, if necessary, further federal funds). In total, this is a requirement of around EUR 60 billion. It must also be taken into account that the introduction of “super depreciation” will lead to reduced tax revenues in the period 2022-2025.

Adjustment of the cyclical adjustment procedure

The coalition agreement mentions the further development of the estimation of the cyclical component or potential output based on scientific findings. The current estimation method has weaknesses especially after crises or structural reform. Our study develops ideas for the further development of the estimation method based on the relevant scientific literature. In implementing these and other proposals, it should be noted that methodological further developments are integrated into the European process (as also required by the federal law on Art 115 GG).

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Koalitionsvertrag 2021-2025: Zusätzliche finanzielle Spielräume für Zukunftsinvestitionen?

Der Koalitionsvertrag liegt vor. Ermöglichen die dort aufgeführten finanzpolitischen Instrumente ausreichend Spielraum für die nötigen Klima- und anderen Zukunftsinvestitionen? Tom Krebs und Janek Steitz mit einer Einschätzung.

 

Text und Auswertung von Tom Krebs (Universität Mannheim, Forum New Economy) und Janek Steitz (Agora Energiewende)

Der Koalitionsvertrag der Ampel-Parteien enthält im Wesentlichen drei finanzpolitischen Instrumente zur öffentlichen Finanzierung von Klima- und anderen Zukunftsinvestitionen. Zum Ersten die Finanzierung öffentlicher Investitionen durch die Stärkung der Eigenkapitalbasis öffentlicher Unternehmen und die Kreditfinanzierung von Investitionen durch diese Unternehmen. Zum Zweiten die Förderung privater Zukunftsinvestitionen über einen Ausbau existierender KfW-Programme und dem Abbau klimaschädlicher Subventionen. Zum Dritten die Nutzung der Ausnahmeregelung zur Schuldenbremse in 2021 und 2022, um mittels der Bildung von Rücklagen die krisenbedingten Mehrausgaben in den kommenden Jahren zu finanzieren. Darüber hinaus fordert der Koalitionsvertrag eine Anpassung bzw. Weiterentwicklung des Konjunkturbereinigungsverfahrens auf Basis der wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse. Damit habe die Ampel-Parteien die wesentlichen Vorschläge von Krebs, Graichen und Steitz (2021) aufgegriffen und so die finanzpolitische Voraussetzung für ein Modernisierungsjahrzehnt geschaffen.

Grobschätzung zusätzlicher Spielraum durch Maßnahmen des KoaV 2022-2025

Fiskalpolitische
Maßnahme KoaV
Zusätzlicher Spielraum
2022-2025
Anmerkung
a. Weiterentwicklung der KfW zur Innovations- und Investitionsagentur n/a Die Ausweitung des Zukunftsfonds sowie bewährter Förderinstrumente der KfW (z.B. zinsgünstige Kredite mit Zuschuss) kann wesentlich dazu beitragen private Investitionen zu hebeln. Eine Stärkung der EK-Basis der KfW ist schuldenbremsenneutral.

 

b. Stärkung öffentlicher Unternehmen (z.B. DB oder BlmA) durch finanzielle Transaktionen Rund 25 Mrd. EUR Über finanzielle Transaktionen des Bundes und der Länder (z.B. EK-Stärkung) sowie Kreditaufnahme öffentlicher Unternehmen kann ein Teil der im Zeitraum 2022-2025 anfallenden Investitionsbedarfe im Klimabereich gedeckt werden. Werden 1/4 der in Krebs und Steitz (2021) identifizierten Bedarfe (Bund und Kommunen) auf diese Weise finanziert, ergibt sich für 2022-2025 ein zusätzlicher Spielraum von etwa 25 Mrd. EUR.

 

c. Gesamttilgungsplan und Anpassung Tilgungsfristen gemäß NGEU Rund 6 Mrd. EUR Setzen die Corona-Tilgungsverpflichtungen aus dem Jahr 2020 nicht wie bisher geplant ab 2023 ein, sondern starten im Zuge der Zusammenlegung erst ab 2026 (oder später), kann dies zusätzlichen Spielraum von etwa 6 Mrd. EUR schaffen.

 

d. Anpassung der buchhalterischen Berücksichtigung von Sondervermögen innerhalb der Schuldenregel n/a Schafft keinen Spielraum an sich, aber ist Voraussetzung dafür, dass im Rahmen der Ausnahmeklausel der Schuldenbremse eine Rücklage im neuen Klima- und Transformationsfonds (KTF) gebildet werden kann (siehe d. und e.), die dann im Verlauf der Legislaturperiode schuldenbremsenneutral verbraucht werden kann.

 

e. Zweckgebundene Befüllung des neuen KTF mit ungenutzten Kreditermächtigungen aus dem Jahr 2021 Bis zu 65 Mrd. EUR Der SVR rechnet im Jahresgutachten 2021/2022 mit einem Haushaltsdefizit von knapp 175 Mrd. EUR. Gemäß Nachtragshaushalt 2021 beträgt die Ermächtigung zur NKA 240 Mrd. EUR für 2021. Die ungenutzte Kreditermächtigung soll gemäß KoaV in den KTF überführt werden, wobei zu berücksichtigen ist, dass ein Veranlassungszusammenhang zur Corona-Pandemie bestehen muss (siehe Anmerkungen unten).

 

f. Prüfung der Aufstockung des KTF im Rahmen der Notlagenregelung 2022 n/a Solange Zusammenhang zur Corona-Pandemie hergestellt werden kann, dürfte weitere Aufstockung möglich sein.
g. Evaluation und ggf. Anpassung des Konjunkturbereinigungs-verfahrens Rund 30 Mrd. EUR (wenn Neuregelung ab 2023 greift) Siehe Krebs/Steitz/Graichen (2021); unter der Voraussetzung, dass sich Bundesregierung zur dauerhaft wachstumsfreundlichen Wirtschaftspolitik bekennt und strukturelle Maßnahmen (zB Investitionen Infrastrukturen oder Anhebung Mindestlohn) ergreift.

 

h. Umsetzung geeigneter Projekte im Rahmen von ÖPP n/a Schwer abzuschätzen; ggf. im Bereich Wasserstoffinfrastruktur.

 

i. Abbau überflüssiger, unwirksamer und umwelt- und klimaschädlicher Subventionen und Ausgaben Bis zu 30 Mrd. EUR Unklar wie ambitioniert der Abbau klimaschädlicher Investitionen angegangen wird; explizit angesprochen ist nur die Abschaffung des Diesel-Privilegs. Potenzial des Abbaus „überflüssiger“ Ausgaben ungewiss. Vorsichtige Schätzung insgesamt: 30 Mrd. EUR.

 

j. Einmaliger Beitrag zur Entlastung kommunaler Altschulden Bis zu 20 Mrd. Euro Finanzierungsinstrument unklar; mögliche wäre eine einmalige Zuweisung an einen Altschuldenfonds in 2022.

 

GESAMT Bis zu 176 Mrd. EUR + X Rund 45 Mrd. / Jahr; inkl. bereits bereitgestellter Mittel sollten innerhalb der LP20 die notwendigen Investitionen auf den Weg gebracht werden können – jedoch unter Vorbehalt, dass eine Rücklagenbildung (e. und f.) rechtlich umsetzbar ist.

 

 

Anmerkungen

Öffentliche Investitionen des Bundes

Finanzierung der notwendigen Bundesinvestitionen ist durch die von uns vorgeschlagenen und im Koalitionsvertrag erwähnten Instrumente (Stärkung der Eigenkapitalbasis der öffentlichen Unternehmen und Kreditfähigkeit der öffentlichen Unternehmen) gesichert. In diesem Bereich werden strukturelle Maßnahmen besonders wichtig für eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung sein: Fokus auf das Kerngeschäft (Angebot öffentlicher Infrastruktur und öffentlicher Dienstleistungen im Inland), effektive Organisation des Managements und direkte Kontrolle durch den Eigentümer (die öffentliche Hand).

Zudem sollte beachtet werden, dass die Bundesagentur für Arbeit zusätzliche Finanzmittel und eine gewisse finanzielle Reserve benötigt, um die im Koalitionsvertrag erwähnten zusätzlichen Aufgaben angemessen zu erfüllen (Investitionen in die Menschen). Das bedeutet unter anderem, dass – wie in unserer Studie vorgeschlagen — der Bund durch eine einmalige Zuweisung die in der Corona-Krise erlittenen Verluste (krisenbedingte Zusatzausgaben) der BA von fast 30 Milliarden Euro teilweise ausgleichen sollte. Wichtig: Dazu ist keine Rücklagenbildung notwendig – dies ist daher verfassungsrechtlich unbedenklich.

Förderung privater Investitionen

Der EKFs soll zu einem Klima- und Transformationsfonds umgebaut werden. Es ist ökonomisch sinnvoll, zur Finanzierung des Fonds die in 2021 nicht genutzten Rücklagen und eventuell zusätzliche Rücklagen aus 2022 zu nutzen. Aus verfassungsrechtlicher Sicht ist es wichtig, einen unmittelbaren bzw. finalen Veranlassungszusammenhang zwischen Corona-Krise und den mit den Rücklagen finanzierten Ausgaben herzustellen – siehe das Gutachten des wissenschaftlichen Dienstes „Notlagenverschuldung des Bundes und der Länder“ vom 22.11.2021. Ein solcher Zusammenhang ist jedoch für die Finanzierung des Abbaus der EEG-Umlage und eines Teils der künftigen Klimainvestitionen gegeben, wie wir in unserer Studie argumentieren.

Der Abbau klimaschädlicher Subventionen sollte unabhängig von der Finanzierungsfrage erfolgen. Denn die Förderung klimafreundlicher Investitionen entfaltet eine besonders große Lenkungswirkung, wenn gleichzeitig klimaschädliche Subventionen abgebaut werden.

Wichtig zu beachten ist, dass die EEG-Umlage ab dem 01.01.2023 über den KTF durch Haushaltsmittel (Einnahmen BEHG und ETS und ggf. weitere Bundesmittel) finanziert werden soll. Insgesamt ist das ein Bedarf von rund 60 Mrd. EUR. Ebenso muss berücksichtigt werden, dass die Einführung von „Superabschreibungen“ zu Steuermindereinnahmen im Zeitraum 2022-2025 führen werden.

Anpassung des Konjunkturbereinigungsverfahren

Der Koalitionsvertrag erwähnt die Weiterentwicklung der Schätzung der Konjunkturkomponente bzw. des Produktionspotenzials auf Basis der wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse. Die aktuelle Schätzmethode hat besonders nach Krisen oder Strukturreform Schwächen. Unsere Studie entwickelt Ideen zur Weiterentwicklung der Schätzmethode auf Basis der einschlägigen wissenschaftlichen Literatur. Bei der Umsetzung dieser und anderer Vorschläge sollte beachtet werden, dass die methodischen Weiterentwicklungen in den europäischen Prozess eingebunden werden (wie auch im Bundesgesetz zu Art 115 GG gefordert).

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.