VIII. New Paradigm Workshop, May 25-27- Day 2

New world of fiscal rules - Germany's climate bet - What helps against Wirecard? - with Jörg Kukies, Tom Krebs, Nora Szech, Mark Blyth, Jakob von Weizsäcker, Monika Schnitzer, Harold James and many more.

 

This is likely to be one of the hot topics in the election campaign debates: where should the money come from to pay for Corona induced damages, investments in climate, better schools and railways and, depending on party preference, a few tax giveaways? The recommendations of today’s leading international experts will dominate the second day of our eighth New Paradigm Workshop next week – on Tuesday, 26 May from nine in the morning to half past seven in the evening.

Climate Challenge
There were times when Germany was considered a role model when it came to environmental and climate protection. Today, the question is whether the country can manage the great transition to make everything climate-neutral by 2050 – or 2045. Patrick Graichen from Agora Energiewende will present how this could actually be achieved in the climate session. What the transformation of the car industry will mean for employment and value creation in Germany in the coming years – that is what the experts from Boston Consulting have estimated in a previously unpublished study, the results of which will be presented on the same panel. As well as estimates by Tom Krebs on how much would have to be publicly invested in the conversion of the industry to green hydrogen. Other panellists on the big question of whether Germany can manage the conversion: KfW chief economist Friederike Köhler-Geib and Laurence Tubiana from the European Climate Foundation. Chair: Carlo Jaeger of the Global Climate Forum.

Start of the Climate Challenge panel: on 26 May at 11 am.
More on the climate challenge.

Fiscal Policy
And how will all this be paid for? In the afternoon, a major focus will be on the question of how to deal with debt after the Corona crisis – and how previous debt and fiscal rules would have to be reformed to achieve this. To kick things off, Mark Blyth of Brown University and Eric Lonergan of M&G Investments will present their Forum paper on how, in principle, rules could be established that would be better than the simple targets for deficits and debt that have dominated in recent decades, especially in Europe. Discussants: Jakob von Weizsäcker, Chief Economist at the Federal Ministry of Finance, Peter Bofinger from the University of Würzburg and Véronique Riches-Flores from Paris.

Start of the panel on a new framework for fiscal policy: 26 May at 2 pm.

What does this mean for the German debt brake? Answered by Philippa Sigl-Glöckner and colleagues in their study commissioned by the Forum on how, even without a major reform of the debt brake, more room for maneuver could be created so that the Finance Minister can do more than just prevent deficits, i.e. contribute to more prosperity in the country. The proposals presented by Michael Hüther from the IW Cologne and Jens Südekum from the University of Düsseldorf pursue similar goals. They will be discussed by Monika Schnitzer from the German Council of Economic Experts and Shahin Vallée from the DGAP.

The panel on the German debt brake will start on 26 May at 3 pm.

And for Europe’s deficit and debt rules? Macron advisor Philippe Martin, together with Xavier Ragot from the Paris OFCE and others, recently made a proposal on this. The reform proposal is considered a quasi-official French position – and will be put up for discussion on the third panel of the Fiscal Afternoon. Among the discussants are Thomas Westphal from the Federal Ministry of Finance, Guntram Wolff from the think tank Bruegel, Margit Schratzenstaller from the Austrian Fiscal Council and Annamaria Simonazzi from the Sapienza University in Rome. Chair: Martin Sandbu from the Financial Times. At the start of the panel, Sebastian Dullien from the IMK will present estimates of how the economy and government deficits are likely to develop if the governments in Berlin, Rome and Madrid, for example, were to switch to austerity more or less quickly now.

Start of the sessions on the reform of the European fiscal rules: on 26 May at 4.45 pm.

Financial Supervision
How to make a lot of money – or prevent someone from making it illegally: this is also the topic of the first session on Day 2, which will deal with the question of whether financial supervision does not need a completely new self-image after all the scandals surrounding Wirecard and others – a new paradigm beyond the old proximity to the praised financial markets. This is the suggestion of Gerhard Schick and Martin Hellwig. Afterwards, Jörg Kukies, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Finance, and economist Daniela Gabor from Bristol will tell us whether they think it is a good idea. The moderator will be Olaf Storbeck from the FT, which was instrumental in triggering the Wirecard scandal. Start at 9 am.

Globalization and Behavioural Economics
A new addition to the programme: Harold James, who will give a short lecture on why Corona could be followed by a surprisingly new heyday of globalisation. Make a note for Day 2, 6.30 pm The insights into human behaviour that can be drawn from the Corona crisis will be presented by Nora Szech, a behavioural economist from the University of Karlsruhe.
Mehr zum Thema Globalisierung.


Hier registrieren!

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

VIII. New Paradigm Workshop, 25.-27. Mai – Tag 2

Neue Welt der Fiskalregeln - Deutschlands Klimawette - Was hilft gegen Wirecard? - mit Jörg Kukies, Tom Krebs, Nora Szech, Mark Blyth, Jakob von Weizsäcker, Monika Schnitzer, Harold James und vielen anderen.

 

Es dürfte einer der Renner unter den Wahlkampfdebatten werden: woher soll das Geld kommen, um Corona-Spätschäden, Investitionen in Klima, bessere Schulen wie Bahnen und je nach Parteipräferenz noch ein paar Steuergeschenke zu bezahlen? Was international führende Experten und Expertinnen dazu heute empfehlen, wird den zweiten Tag unseres achten New Paradigm Workshops in der kommenden Woche bestimmen – am Dienstag, 26. Mai von morgens neun bis abends halb acht.

Klima
Es gab Zeiten, da galt Deutschland als Vorbild, wenn es um Umwelt- und Klimaschutz ging. Heute stellt sich die Frage, ob das Land den großen Umbau hinbekommt, alles bis 2050 – oder 2045 – auf klimaneutral zu stellen. Wie das überhaupt gehen könnte, stellt Patrick Graichen von Agora Energiewende in der Klima-Session vor. Was die Transformation der Autoindustrie für Beschäftigung und Wertschöpfung in Deutschland für die kommenden Jahre bedeutet – haben die Experten von Boston Consulting in einer bisher unveröffentlichten Studie geschätzt, deren Ergebnisse auf demselben Panel vorgestellt wird. Ebenso wie Schätzungen von Tom Krebs dazu, wie viel öffentlich in die Umstellung der Industrie auf grünen Wasserstoff investiert werden müsste. Weitere Panelisten zur großen Frage, ob Deutschland den Umbau schafft: die KfW-Chefvolkswirtin Friederike Köhler-Geib und Laurence Tubiana von der European Climate Foundation. Chair: Carlo Jaeger vom Global Climate Forum.

Start des Panels zur Climate Challenge: am 26. Mai um 11 Uhr.
Mehr zum Thema Klimatransformation.

Fiskalpolitik
Und wie soll all das bezahlt werden? Wird am Nachmittag in einem großen Schwerpunkt zur Frage danach geklärt, wie nach der Corona-Krise mit den Schulden umzugehen ist – und wie bisherige Schulden- und Fiskalregeln dazu reformiert werden müssten. Zum Start stellen Mark Blyth von der Brown Universität und Eric Lonergan von M&G Investments ihr Forum-Paper dazu vor, wie sich grundsätzlich Regeln aufstellen ließen, die besser wären als die simplen Zielmarken für Defizite und Schulden, die in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten vor allem in Europa dominierten. Diskutanten: Jakob von Weizsäcker, Chefökonom im Bundesfinanzministerium, Peter Bofinger von der Uni Würzburg und Véronique Riches-Flores aus Paris.
Start des Panels zu einem neuen Rahmen für die Finanzpolitik: am 26. Mai um 14 Uhr.

Was das für die deutsche Schuldenbremse heißt? Beantworten Philippa Sigl-Glöckner und KollegInnen in ihrer vom Forum in Auftrag gegebenen Studie dazu, wie sich selbst ohne Großreform der Schuldenbremse mehr Spielraum schaffen ließe, damit der Finanzminister mehr tun kann, als nur Defizite zu verhindern, also zu mehr Wohlstand im Land beitragen. Ähnliche Ziele verfolgen die Vorschläge, die Michael Hüther vom IW und Jens Südekum von der Uni Düsseldorf auf dem Panel vorstellen. Diskutiert werden diese von Monika Schnitzer aus dem Sachverständigenrat sowie Shahin Vallée von der DGAP.
Start des Panels zur deutschen Schuldenbremse: am 26. Mai um 15 Uhr.

Und für Europas Defizit- und Schuldenregeln? Dazu hat Macron Berater Philippe Martin zusammen mit Xavier Ragot vom Pariser OFCE und anderen vor Kurzem einen Vorschlag gemacht. Der Reformvorschlag gilt als quasi-offizielle französische Position – und wird auf dem dritten Panel des Fiskal-Nachmittags zur Diskussion gestellt. Unter den Diskutanten sind Thomas Westphal aus dem Bundesfinanzministerium, Guntram Wolff vom Think-Tank Bruegel, Margit Schratzenstaller vom österreichischen Fiskalrat sowie Annamaria Simonazzi von der Sapienza-Universität in Rom. Chair: Martin Sandbu von der Financial Times. Zum Start des Panels stellt Sebastian Dullien vom IMK Schätzungen dazu vor, wie sich Wirtschaft und Staatsdefizite entwickeln dürften, wenn die Regierungen etwa in Berlin, Rom und Madrid jetzt mehr oder weniger schnell auf Austerität schalten würden.
Start der Sessions zur Reform der europäischen Fiskalregeln: am 26. Mai um 16 Uhr 45.

Finanzaufsicht
Wie sich viel Geld machen lässt – oder verhindern, dass jemand so etwas auf illegalem Wege schafft: darum dreht sich außerdem die erste Session an Tag 2. Darin geht es um die Frage, ob die Finanzaufsicht nach all den Skandalen um Wirecard und anderen nicht ein ganz neues Selbstverständnis bräuchte – ein neues Paradigma jenseits der alten Nähe zu den gelobten Finanzmärkten. Den Vorschlag machen Gerhard Schick und Martin Hellwig. Ob sie das gut finden, sagen danach Jörg Kukies, zuständiger Staatssekretär im Bundesfinanzministerium, und Ökonomin Daniela Gabor aus Bristol. Die zum Thema passende Moderation kommt von Olaf Storbeck von der FT, die den Wirecard-Skandal maßgeblich anstieß. Start am 26. Mai um 9 Uhr.

Globalisierung und Verhaltensökonomik
Ganz neu im Programm: Harold James, der in einer kurzen Lecture darlegen wird, warum es nach Corona zu einer überraschend neuen Hochzeit der Globalisierung kommen könnte. Vormerken für Tag 2, am 26. Mai um 18 Uhr 30. Welche Erkenntnisse sich aus der Corona-Krise zum Verhalten von Menschen ziehen lassen: dazu gibt zwischendurch die Verhaltensökonomin Nora Szech von der Uni Karlsruhe einen Einblick.
Mehr zum Thema Globalisierung.


Hier registrieren!

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.