VIII. New Paradigm Workshop, May 25-27 2021 – Day 1

How to tackle inequality? Will Bidenomics help against Trump? Talk with Joe Kaeser and Dani Rodrik.

 

Corona still dominates. But what comes after? Where is the country – and the new government – heading? (Almost) all these questions will be answered in two weeks – at the eighth New Paradigm Workshop, this time on the “Future of the German Model” shortly before the Bundestag elections, which we want to hold again for the first time with real participants.

INEQUALITY
There will be a lot of discussion about the division in the country until the election, but not that much is known about the facts. Therefore, Stefan Bach and Markus Grabka will open up the workshop presenting the results of the third part of our project on inequality in Germany. Building on part one – diagnosis and data situation – and part two – identifying the main drivers of inequality – we will now address the big question of what exactly helps to prevent income and wealth from drifting apart and how. Would a wealth tax significantly reduce the gap between rich and poor? If not, what else? The results of the project were discussed in advance with various experts, including Andreas Peichl from the Ifo Institute and Lucas Chancel from the Piketty team. On the podium now: Martin Biewen from the University of Tübingen, Charlotte Bartels from DIW Berlin and Clara Martinez Toledano from Imperial College Business School.

Rewatch the session here.

The panel on the big topic of rich and poor will start on 25 May at 2:30 pm.
More on inequality.

POPULISM & BIDENOMICS
Another result of a long-term project is the paper that Robert Gold from the Kiel Institute for the World Economy has just written on the socio-economic causes of populism. Here, too, the first steps were to identify the extent and driving forces. Now it is a first attempt to deduce which policies help against new bouts of populism. There has been a real life experiment in this regard for a few weeks now: the major reform packages of the new US President Joe Biden – with the obvious aim of preventing Americans from electing a populist like Donald Trump again next time. Thomas Ferguson from the Institute for New Economic Thinking INET in New York will comment on the chances of Bidenomics on the panel.Other panellists on the fight against populism: Dalia Marin and Catherine Fieschi.

The panel on populism will start at 25 May from 4.15 pm.
More on Bidenomics.

HOW TO MAKE GLOBALIZATION WORK FOR ALL – TALK WITH DANI RODRIK & JOE KAESER
Finally, two very special top experts will discuss how globalisation and capitalism can be reformed – the one is among the most powerful corporate leaders with a sense for social imbalances, the other is one of the masterminds of the critique of globalisation: Siemens CEO Joe Kaeser in a talk with Harvard economist Dani Rodrik. Here, too, the topic will be whether Joe Biden is currently creating the template for a new paradigm.

The Kaeser Rodrik talk will be moderated by OECD economist Nicola Brandt – on 25 May from 17:30.
More on globalization.


Register here!

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

VIII. New Paradigm Workshop, 25.-27. Mai 2021 – Tag 1

Was wirkt gegen Ungleichheit? Hilft Bidenomics gegen Trump? Talk mit Joe Kaeser und Dani Rodrik.

 

Noch dominiert Corona. Nur, was kommt danach? Wohin steuert das Land – und die neue Regierung? (Fast) alle Antworten darauf gibt es beim achten New Paradigm Workshop, diesmal zur „Zukunft des deutschen Modells“ kurz vor der Bundestagswahl, den wir erstmals wieder auch mit realen Teilnehmern machen wollen.

UNGLEICHHEIT
Über die Spaltung im Land wird bis zur Wahl viel gestritten werden, zu den Fakten ist nur nicht ganz so viel bekannt. Daher werden Stefan Bach und Markus Grabka zum Start des Workshops die Ergebnisse des dritten Teils unseres Projekts zur Ungleichheit in Deutschland vorstellen. Aufbauend auf Teil eins – Diagnose und Datenlage – und zwei – zur Identifikation der Haupttreiber von Ungleichheit – geht es jetzt um die große Frage, was genau wie gut gegen ein Auseinanderdriften von Einkommen und Vermögen hilft. Würde eine Vermögensteuer überhaupt den Abstand zwischen Reich und Arm maßgeblich reduzieren? Wenn nicht, was sonst? Die Ergebnisse des Projekts wurden vorab mit diversen Experten besprochen, darunter Andreas Peichl vom Ifo-Institut und Lucas Chancel aus dem Team Piketty. Auf dem Podium jetzt: Martin Biewen von der Universität Tübingen, Charlotte Bartels vom DIW sowie Clara Martinez Toledano von Imperial College Business School.

Die Session nachschauen können Sie hier.

Start des Panels zum Megathema Reich und Arm: am 25. Mai um 14:30 Uhr.
Mehr zum Thema Ungleichheit.

POPULISMUS & BIDENOMICS
Ebenfalls Ergebnis eines längerjährigen Projekts ist das Paper, das Robert Gold vom Kieler Institut für Weltwirtschaft zu den sozio-ökonomischen Ursachen von Populismus gerade geschrieben hat. Auch hier ging es in den ersten Stufen erst darum, Ausmaß und Triebkräfte zu identifizieren. Nun geht es um einen ersten Versuch abzuleiten, welche Politik gegen neue Schüben an Populismus hilft. Dabei gibt es dazu ja seit ein paar Wochen ein ganz reales Experiment: die großen Reformpakete des neuen US-Präsidenten Joe Biden – mit dem offenbaren Ziel, die Amerikaner davon abzuhalten, nächstes Mal wieder einen Populisten wie Donald Trump zu wählen. Wie die Chancen von Bidenomics stehen, kommentiert auf dem Panel Thomas Ferguson vom Institute for New Economic Thinking INET in New York. Weitere Panelistinnen zum Kampf gegen Populismus: Dalia Marin und Catherine Fieschi.

Start des Panels am 25. Mai ab 16:15 Uhr.
Mehr zum Thema Bidenomics.

GLOBALISIERUNG – TALK MIT DANI RODRIK UND JOE KAESER
Wie sich Globalisierung und Kapitalismus reformieren lassen, besprechen zum Abschluss zwei ganz besondere Topexperten – der eine zählt zu den jahrelang mächtigsten Konzernlenkern mit Sinn für Gesellschaftsschieflagen, der andere ist einer der Vordenker der Globalisierungskritik: Siemens-Lenker Joe Kaeser im Talk mit Harvard-Ökonom Dani Rodrik. Auch hier wird es darum gehen, ob Joe Biden derzeit die Vorlage für ein neues Paradigma schafft.

Der Talk Kaeser-Rodrik wird moderiert von OECD-Ökonomin Nicola Brandt – am 25. Mai ab 17:30 Uhr.
Mehr zum Thema Globalisierung.


Hier registrieren!

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.