Quick & New – OECD Economic Outlook on December 1 at 12am

On December 1st the OECD Berlin will discuss its new Economic outlook with politicians from all parties. Thomas Fricke will moderate what is poised to be an interesting discussion. Register here!

 

27th Dec 2020

How hard has the Corona crisis hit the economy and with what degree of confidence can one look into the future. In the context of the new OECD Economic Outlook, Philipp Steinberg, BMWi, Otto Fricke, MdB (FDP), Cancel Kiziltepe, MdB (SPD), Lisa Paus, MdB (BÜNDNIS 90/DIE GRÜNEN) and Joachim Pfeiffer, MdB (CDU) will discuss this issue. The discussion will begin after a keynote speech by OECD Berlin Director Nicola Brandt and will be led by Thomas Fricke. For registration please click here.

Quick & New – INET Debt Talks – Do We Need a Debt Jubilee?

25th Nov 2020

Should we cancel some of our debt? The private or the public debt?These and many other question will be discussed in the fourth edition of the INET Debt Talks with Moritz Schularick. This time including the following experts: Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan (Senior Policy Advisor, International Monetary Fund), Astra Taylor (Documentary Filmaker, and Author) und Richard Vague (Acting Secretary of Banking and Securities, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania; Chair, The Governor’s Woods Foundation).

Tune in on 25th Nov at 6 p.m. CET: https://www.ineteconomics.org/events/debt-talks-episode-4-do-we-need-a-debt-jubilee

Quick & New: Wolfgang Schäuble sees uncontrolled capitalism as a threat

16. November 2020

“The virus has taught us that we need more resilience,” says the former advocate of asuterity measures in the euro crisis, calling for capitalism to be curbed.

Wolfgang Schäuble, father of the black zero, former Minister of the Interior and Finance and now President of the German Bundestag, is worried about the current economic system. In an interview with Die Welt he warns that “we have forgotten something in the globalisation frenzy”. Schäuble warns against excessive free world trade, the disproportionate power of the financial industry and questionable conditions in global supply chains. Schäuble also joins in the recurrent debate about GDP as a proper welfare indicator and calls for a more comprehensive indicator to measure prosperity. New tones from one of the key architects of austerity measures in southern European countries during the euro crisis. Schäuble also continues to believe in the meaningfulness of the black zero in terms of generational equity and, given that the CDU continues to drag the supply chain law, Schäuble’s words regarding global supply chains also seem interesting.

Read the full interview in German with Die Welt here.

Quick & New: YSI 2020 Plenary – New Economic Questions

10. November 2020

What are the 100 most pertinent economic questions facing our global society? Our partner organization, INET’s Young Scholars Initiative is hosting a virtual plenary with numerous top speakers including George Akerlof, Joseph E. Stiglitz, Adair Turner, Yanis Varoufakis and many more. You can join the virtual world — here.

Quick & New: Was the World Bank’s Doing-Business-Index manipulated?

In 2018 chief economist of the World Bank Paul Romer told the Wall Street Journal, that he has lost faith in the integrity of the Doing-Business-Index. Now the WOrld Bank has stopped the publication of its „Doing-Business“-Index (DB). Helmut Reisen argues in IPG that the German government should also develop and calibrate new indicators. Read the full article — here.

Quick & New: Fiscal standards for Europe

At yesterday’s Economic Policy Panel Meeting at Germany’s Federal Ministry of Finance Olivier Blanchard, Alvaro Leandro and Jeromin Zettelmeyer presented their new paper on “How to redesign the EU’s approach to public debt sustainability”

After almost 30 years from their conception, most economists and EU policy-makers agree that the European Union´s fiscal rules need to be reformed. Olivier Blanchard, former IMF chief economist, advocates instead for a fundamental rethinking of the premises underlying the EU´s fiscal framework. Incremental reforms – he claims – will not suffice.

In their new research report, Olivier Blanchard together with Jeromin Zettelmeyer and Alvaro Leandro put forward the idea that the European Union should abandon the fiscal rules currently regulating national budgetary policies and embrace fiscal standards which would allow more room for maneuver. The rationale behind the authors´ argument is that fiscal rules are unable to anticipate and embed the complex time- and country-specific features of public debt sustainability. Standards, unlike rules, would in fact allow for a qualitative rather than numerical assessment of national behaviours. An independent institution would then determine ex post whether said standards or qualitative prescriptions have been satisfied. This way, mistakes bound to complexity-simplifyng rules could be avoided.

The full paper can be downloaded — here.

Watch the video recording of yesterday’s panel below:

 

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Quick & New – OECD Wirtschaftsausblick am 1.12. um 12 Uhr

Hochrangige Politker und Politikerinnen diskutieren am kommenden Dienstag den neuen OECD Wirtschaftsausblick. Forum-Diektor Thomas Fricke moderiert die Veranstaltung.

 

27.11.2020

Wie hart hat die Corona-Krise die Wirtschaft getroffen und mit welchem Maß an Zuversicht kann man in die Zukunft schauen. Im Rahmen des neuen OECD Wirtschaftsausblicks diskutieren das Philipp Steinberg, BMWi, Otto Fricke, MdB (FDP), Cancel Kiziltepe, MdB (SPD), Lisa Paus, MdB (BÜNDNIS 90/DIE GRÜNEN) und Joachim Pfeiffer, MdB (CDU). Die Diskussion beginnt nach einem Impulsvortrag der OECD Berlin Direktorin Nicola Brandt und wird von thomas Fricke geführt. Zur Anmeldung geht es hier.

Quick & New – INET Debt Talks – Do We Need a Debt Jubilee?

25.11.2020

Sollten wir einen Teil der Schulden streichen? Die privaten oder die staatlichen Schulden? Diese Fragen werden in der vierten Ausgabe der INET Debt Talks mit Moritz Schularick diskutiert. Mit dabei: Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan (Senior Policy Advisor, International Monetary Fund), Astra Taylor (Documentary Filmaker, and Author) und Richard Vague (Acting Secretary of Banking and Securities, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania; Chair, The Governor’s Woods Foundation).

Los geht’s am 25.11. um 18 Uhr MEZ: https://www.ineteconomics.org/events/debt-talks-episode-4-do-we-need-a-debt-jubilee

 

Quick & New – Wolfgang Schäuble sieht Gefahr in ungezügeltem Kapitalismus

16. November 2020

„Das Virus hat uns gelehrt, dass wir mehr Resilienz brauchen“ sagt der ehemalige Verfechter der Austeritätsmaßnahmen in der Eurokrise und fordert, dass der Kapitalismus gezügelt werden muss.

Wolfgang Schäuble, Vater der Schwarzen Null, ehemaliger Innen- und Finanzminister und aktuell Bundestagspräsident macht sich Sorgen um das derzeitige Wirtschaftssystem. In einem Interview mit der Welt mahnt er, dass „wir […] im Globalisierungsrausch etwas verlernt“ haben. Schäuble warnt vor einem ausufernd freiem Welthandel, der unverhältnismäßigen Macht der Finanzindustrie und fragwürdigen Verhätnissen in globalen Lieferketten. Schäuble klinkt sich auch in die immer wieder aufkommende Debatte über das BIP als Wohlfahrtsindikator ein und fordert eine umfassendere Bemussung von Wohlstand. Neue Töne von einem der entscheidenden Architekten der Austeritätsmaßnahmen in südeuropäischen Ländern während der Euro-Krise. Auch an die Sinnhaftigkeit der Schwarzen Null im Sinne der Generationengerechtigkeit glaubt Schäuble weiterhin und in Anbetracht dessen, dass die CDU das Lieferkettengesetz weiterhin verschleppt, wirken Schäubles Worte in Bezug auf globale Gerechtigkeit ebenfalls interessant.

Das ganze Interview mit der Zeitung  Die Welt finden Sie hier.

Quick & New: YSI 2020 Plenary – New Economic Questions

10. November 2020

Was sind die 100 dringendsten ökonomischen Fragen, die sich für unsere globale Gesellschaft stellen? Unsere Partner Organisation – die Young Scholars Initiative von INET – hat in den vergangenen zwei Wochen ihre virtuelle Jahrestagung abgehalten. Mit dabei waren hochkarätige Redner wie George Akerlof, Joseph E. Stiglitz, Adair Turner, Yanis Varoufakis und viele weitere.

Eine Nachbereitung gibt es — hier.

Quick & New: Wurde der Doing-Business-Index der Weltbank manipuliert?

Die Weltbank hat die Veröffentlichung ihres „Doing-Business“-Index (DB) ausgesetzt. „Es war an der Zeit“ schreibt Helmut Reisen.

Anfang 2018 sagte der damalige Chefökonom der Weltbank Paul Romer dem Wall Street Journal, er habe den Glauben an die Integrität des Doing-Business-Index verloren. Nun hat die Weltbank die Veröffentlichung ihres „Doing-Business“-Index (DB) ausgesetzt. Helmut Reisen argumentiert im IPG, dass auch die Bundesregierung eigene Indikatoren entwickeln und kalibrieren sollte.

Den kompletten Artikel gibt es — hier.

Quick & New: Fiskalpolitische Standards für Europa

Beim gestrigen Economic Policy Panel Meeting, das eigentlich im BMF hätte stattfinden sollen, präsentierte Olivier Blanchard ein neues Papier zur Frage wie man den europäischen Ansatz zu einem nachhaltigen Finanzhaushalt neu gestalten könnte.

Dreißig Jahre nach deren Einführung, werden die Stimmen unter Ökonomen und Politikern lauter, die eine Reformierung der EU Fiskalregeln fordern. Der frühere IWF-Ökonom Olivier Blanchard hingegen fordert nun ein grundlegendes Umdenken des fiskalpolitischen Regelwerks der EU. Schrittweise Reformierungen reichen nicht aus – so Blanchard.

In einem neuen Artikel, argumentiert Olivier Blanchard zusammen mit Jeromin Zettelmeyer und Alvaro Leandro nun, dass die EU die alten Fiskalregeln hinter sich lassen sollte, und stattdessen fiskalpolitische Standards setzen sollte, die mehr Spielraum ermöglichen.  Den Autoren geht es dabei um die Unmöglichkeit von Regeln die Komplixität der Zukunft vorherzusehen. Andere Zeiten und andere Länder erfordern eben auch oftmals andere Maßnahmen.  Standards indes würden eine qualitative Bewertung der jeweiligen Situation ermöglichen. Eine unabhängige Instiution würden dann im Nachhinein evaluieren, ob die Standards und Empfehlungen auch eingehalten wurden. Dadurch könnten fatale Fehler, die durch das Beharren auf komplexitätsreduzierende Regeln entstehen, vermieden werden.

Das komplette Papier gibt es  — hier

Außerdem gibt es eine Aufzeichnung des gestrigen Panels auf YouTube:

 

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.