Preview: New Economy Short Cut with Pavlina Tcherneva and Dirk Ehnts

On 26 October at 6 pm CET we will discuss job guarantee programmes with MMT experts Pavlina Tcherneva and Dirk Ehnts.

 

Register here for the event!

Why is there actually unemployment? This question is once again increasingly being asked by academics who argue that states with sovereign fiscal policies might as well develop programmes that would provide all able and willing workers with jobs that provide a positive public impact. The calls for these job guarantee programmes are still largely inspired by Modern Monetary Theory. But they are fundamentally based on the works of John Maynard Keynes, Michal Kalecki and Hyman P. Minsky.

Pavlina Tcherneva, is one of the leading scientists when it comes to the development of job guarantee schemes. With her new book “The case for a Job Guarantee” she has not only impressed Martin Wolf of the Financial Times. Models based on this work had also found their way into the election manifestos of democratic politician Elizabeth Warren and her colleague Bernie Sanders.

Pavlina Tcherneva is Associate Professor of Economics at Bard College as well as a research fellow at the Levy Economics Institute. In a 15-minute keynote speech, she will present her newly published book and talk about the job guarantee against the background of the Corona crisis and the US elections. She will be commented by Dirk Ehnts, a renowned MMT and job guarantee expert, who will also shed light on the applicability of the job guarantee in Europe and Germany.

Register here for the event!

 

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Preview: New Economy Short Cut mit Pavlina Tcherneva und Dirk Ehnts

Am 26. Oktober um 18.00 Uhr MEZ diskutieren wir mit den MMT-Experten Pavlina Tcherneva und Dirk Ehnts über Arbeitsgarantieprogramme.

 

Hier geht es zur Anmeldung!

Warum gibt es eigentlich Arbeitslosigkeit? Diese Frage stellen sich wieder zunehmend Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen, die argumentieren, dass Staaten mit souveräner Fiskalpolitik genauso gut Programme entwicklen könnten, die alle fähigen und willigen Arbeitskräfte mit Jobs versorgen könnten, die einen positiven Gemeinwohlnutzen stiften. Die Rufe nach diesen Arbeitsgarantieprogrammen stammen noch überwiegend aus der Richtung der Modern Monetary Theory. Doch sie fußen elementar auf die Werke von John Maynard Keynes, Michal Kalecki und Hyman P. Minsky.

Pavlina Tcherneva, ist eine der führenden Wissenschaftlerinnen, wenn es um die Entwicklung der Arbeitsgarantieprogramme geht. Mit ihrem neuen Buch „The case for a Job Guarantee“ hat sie nicht nur Martin Wolf von der Financial Times beeindruckt. Auch in den Wahlprogrammen der demokratischen Spitzenpolitikerin Elizabeth Warren und ihrem Parteikollegen Bernie Sanders hatten sich Modelle basierend auf dieser Arbeit wiedergefunden.

Pavlina Tcherneva ist Associate Professorin für Wirtschaftswissenschaften am Bard College sowie Forschungsstipendiatin am Levy Economics Institute und wird in einer 15-minütigen Keynote ihr neu veröffentlichtes Buch vorstellen und über die Jobgarantie vor dem Hintergrund der Corona-Krise und der US-Wahlen sprechen. Sie wird von Dirk Ehnts, einem renommierten MMT- und Jobgarantie-Experten, kommentiert, der auch die Anwendbarkeit der Jobgarantie in Europa und Deutschland beleuchten wird.

Hier geht es zur Anmeldung!

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.