New Economy Short Cut – Top economists argue over top textbooks

Peter Bofinger has caused quite a stir with his criticism of two of the most legendary economics textbooks - now he is arguing about them live: with Greg Mankiw, the author of the books, Rüdiger Bachmann and Anna Reisch. This Tuesday, 5 pm.

 

For decades, few other textbooks have influenced young economists as much as those by Gregory Mankiw. Peter Bofinger, Professor of Economics at the University of Würzburg, received all the more attention when he recently argued how supposedly one-sided and out of touch with reality some of the books’ key statements are. Rightly so? We have invited Peter Bofinger to present and discuss his critique in our next New Economy Short Cut and he will be joined by Gregory Mankiw himself. Also on the panel to discuss this topic will be Rüdiger Bachmann, Professor of Economics at the University of Notre Dame in Indiana and Anna Reisch, a former member of the chair of Netzwerk für Plurale Ökonomik.

We would like to invite you to join us for our New Economy Short Cut with Peter Bofinger and Rüdiger Bachmann – on January 19, 2021 at 17:00 CET (via Zoom).

If you want to read Peter Bofinger’s review in advance, you can find it here – optionally in German or English.

You can register for the event here!

Peter Bofinger is Professor for Monetary and International Economics at Würzburg University and a former member of the German Council of Economic Experts (2004-2019).

Rüdiger Bachmann is Stepan Family College Professor of Economics at the University of Notre Dame. Although he teaches and researches in the US, he is an important voice in the German-speaking economists scene.

Gregory Mankiw is Professor for Economics at Harvard University and former chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors under George W. Bush. 

Anna Reisch is a former member of the chair of  Netzwerk für Plurale Ökonomik.

New Economy Short Cut – Top-Ökonomen streiten über Top-Lehrbücher

Peter Bofinger hat für viel Wirbel gesorgt mit seiner Kritik an zwei der legendärsten Ökonomie-Lehrbücher – jetzt streitet er live darüber: mit Greg Mankiw, dem Autor der Bücher, Rüdiger Bachmann und Anna Reisch. Diesen Dienstag, 17 Uhr.

 

Wenige andere Lehrbücher prägen seit Jahrzehnten angehende Ökonomen und Ökonominnen so sehr wie die von Gregory Mankiw. Umso mehr Wirbel machte es kürzlich, als der Würzburger Wirtschaftsprofessor Peter Bofinger in Zitaten aus den Büchern darzulegen versuchte, wie vermeintlich einseitig und realitätsfremd maßgebliche Aussagen der Lehrbücher sind. Zu Recht? Wir haben Peter Bofinger eingeladen, seine Kritik in unserem nächsten New Economy Short Cut vorzustellen und zu diskutieren – mit Gregory Mankiw höchstpersönlich., Rüdiger Bachmann, Professor für Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der University Notre Dame im US-Bundesstaat Indiana und Anna Reisch vom Netzwerk für Plurale Ökonomik.

Wir möchten Sie herzlich einladen, dabei zu sein und mitzudiskutieren bei unserem New Economy Short Cut mit Peter Bofinger und Rüdiger Bachmann – am 19. Januar 2021 um 17:00 Uhr (via Zoom und auf Englisch)

Zur Einstimmung – hier der Link zu Peter Bofingers Kritik, wahlweise auf Deutsch oder auf Englisch.

Registrieren Sie sich hier für das Event!

Peter Bofinger ist Professor für Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Universität Würzburg. Von 2004 bis 2019 war er Mitglied im Sachverständigenrat zur Begutachtung der gesamtwirtschaft-lichen Entwicklung.

Rüdiger Bachmann ist Stepan Family College Professor of Economics an der University of Notre Dame. Obwohl er in den USA lehrt und forscht, ist er eine wichtige Stimme in der deutsch-sprachigen Ökonomenszene.

Gregory Mankiw ist Professor für Ökonomie an der Harvard University und ehemaliger Vorsitzender des Councils of Economic Advisors unter George W. Bush. 

Anna Reisch ist ehemaliges Vorstandsmitglied des Netzwerk für Plurale Ökonomik.

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.