Nations have become richer, governments poorer

The World Inequality report 2022 has been released. It finds persisting levels of extreme wealth concentration across the world, worsened by the pandemic. But the data also shows: inequality is a political choice, not an inevitability.

 

The World Inequality Lab has released its 2022 World Inequality report. The report presents the latest and most complete data available on inequality. Compared to its predecessor, the 2018 World Inequality Report, it presents novel findings in four main areas: systematic data on inequality at the global level and how it has evolved over time for almost all countries; more in-depth evidence on wealth and its distribution worldwide than has been available until now; systematic data on the share of world labor income earned by women; and new evidence of inequality in carbon emissions across the world.

Has Covid made inequality worse?

The 2022 World Inequality report finds persisting levels of extreme wealth and income inequality. The richest 10% of the global population currently takes 52% of global income, whereas the poorest half of the population earns 8% of it. Global wealth inequalities are even more pronounced than income inequalities. The poorest half of the global population barely owns any wealth at all, possessing just 2% of the total. In contrast, the richest 10% of the global population own 76% of all wealth.

The researchers also find that the Covid-19 pandemic has exacerbated several forms of inequality within countries, including health, social, gender, and wealth inequality. Looking at billionaire wealth records, the report finds that the gap between the very top of the wealth distribution and the rest of the population has widened dramatically during this pandemic. Between 2021 and 2019, the wealth of the top 0.001% grew by 14%, while average global wealth is estimated to have risen by just 1%.

Large inequalities in carbon emissions

Global income and wealth inequalities are tightly connected to ecological inequalities and to inequalities in contributions to climate change. The report’s novel data set on carbon emissions inequalities reveals important inequalities in CO2 emissions at the world level: the top 10% of emitters are responsible for close to 50% of all emissions, while the bottom 50% produce a mere 12% of the total. Such numbers reinforce the often debated question of financial compensation mechanisms for low-income groups and of the just financing of climate protection efforts.

Nations have become richer, but governments have become poor

Not only inequality between rich and poor individuals has increased, but also inequalities between the net wealth of governments and net wealth of the private sector. As such, the 2022 report finds that over the past 40 years, while countries have become significantly richer, their governments have become significantly poorer. In numbers, this means that the share of wealth held by public actors is close to zero or even negative in rich countries. This trend has been magnified by the Covid crisis, and has important implications for state capacities to tackle inequality in the future, as well as the key challenges of the 21st century.

Inequality is a political choice, not an inevitability

Following a series of neoliberal deregulation and liberalization programs since the 1980s, income and wealth inequalities have been on the rise nearly in all countries. As these reforms took different forms in different countries, the rise has not been uniform: certain countries have experienced spectacular increases in inequality (like the US, India and Russia) while others (European countries and China) have experienced relatively smaller rises. These differences, discussed at length in the previous edition of the World Inequality Report, confirm that inequality is not inevitable, it is a political choice.

How can inequality be reduced?

Given the pressing nature of today’s crises, rising or persisting levels of wealth, income, carbon and gender inequality threaten to hamper progress towards sustainable welfare for all. But how can inequality effectively be reduced? Knowing that inequality is not inevitable, the World Inequality Report 2022 concludes by discussing various options to tackle inequality, learning from examples all over the world and throughout modern history, including progressive taxes, the role of corporate tax in the progressivity of the tax system, unilateral approaches, or global asset registers, all of which depend on concerted political will and action.

The full report is available here.

For a German take on the debate, we recommended this paper by Charlotte Bartels and Carsten Schroeder, commissioned by the Forum.

 

 

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Länder sind reicher, aber ihre Regierungen ärmer geworden

Der World Inequality Report 2022 wurde veröffentlicht. Die Daten zeigen: die weltweite Vermögensungleichheit ist weiter hoch, und hat sich durch die Pandemie noch verschlimmert. Aber: Ungleichheit ist auch eine politische Entscheidung.

 

Das World Inequality Lab hat seinen World Inequality Report 2022 veröffentlicht. Der Bericht enthält die neuesten Daten zur Ungleichheit. Im Vergleich zu seinem Vorgänger, dem World Inequality Report 2018, enthält er neue Erkenntnisse in vier Hauptbereichen: systematische Daten zur Ungleichheit auf globaler Ebene und wie sie sich im Laufe der Zeit für fast alle Länder entwickelt haben; detailliertere Daten zu Reichtum und seiner weltweiten Verteilung; systematische Daten zum Anteil der Frauen am weltweiten Arbeitseinkommen; und neue Erkenntnisse zur globalen Ungleichheit beim Ausstoß von Treibhausgasen.

Hat Covid die Ungleichheit verschlimmert?

Der World Inequality Report 2022 zeigt auf, dass weiterhin eine hohe globale Vermögens- und Einkommensungleichheit besteht. SO verfügen die reichsten 10 % der Weltbevölkerung derzeit über 52 % des weltweiten Einkommens, während die ärmste Hälfte der Bevölkerung über nur 8 % verfügt. Die globale Vermögensungleichheit ist dabei noch ausgeprägter als die Einkommensungleichheit. Die ärmste Hälfte der Weltbevölkerung besitzt so gut wie gar kein Vermögen, aktuell sind es nur 2 % des Gesamtvermögens. Im Gegensatz dazu besitzen die reichsten 10 % der Weltbevölkerung 76 % des gesamten Vermögens.

Die Forscher stellen außerdem fest, dass die Covid-19-Pandemie verschiedene Formen der Ungleichheit innerhalb der Länder verschärft hat, darunter die gesundheitliche, soziale, geschlechtsspezifische und Vermögensungleichheit. Ein Blick auf die Vermögensdaten von Milliardären zeigt, dass sich die Kluft zwischen der Spitze der Vermögensverteilung und dem Rest der Bevölkerung während der Pandemie dramatisch vergrößert hat. Zwischen 2021 und 2019 wuchs das Vermögen der obersten 0,001 % um 14 %, während das durchschnittliche globale Vermögen schätzungsweise nur um 1 % gestiegen ist.

Große Ungleichheiten bei den Kohlenstoffemissionen

Die globalen Einkommens- und Vermögensunterschiede hängen eng mit ökologischen Ungleichheiten und ungleichen Beiträgen zur Klimakrise zusammen. Die Berechnungen des World Inequality Reports offenbaren erhebliche Ungleichheiten beim Ausstoß von CO2-Emissionen auf globaler Ebene: So sind die obersten 10 % der Emittenten für fast 50 % aller Emissionen verantwortlich, während die unteren 50 % lediglich 12 % der Gesamtemissionen verursachen. Solche Zahlen verstärken die oft diskutierte Frage nach finanziellen Ausgleichsmechanismen für einkommensschwache Gruppen und nach der sozial gerechten Finanzierung von Klimaschutzbemühungen.

Länder sind reicher geworden, aber ihre Regierungen ärmer

Nicht nur die Ungleichheit zwischen reichen und armen Menschen hat zugenommen, sondern auch die Ungleichheit zwischen dem Nettovermögen der Regierungen und dem Nettovermögen des Privatsektors. So stellt der Bericht fest, dass viele Länder in den letzten 40 Jahren zwar deutlich reicher geworden sind, ihre Regierungen aber deutlich ärmer. Das heißt: der Anteil des von öffentlichen Akteuren gehaltenen Vermögens in den reichen Ländern geht gegen Null oder ist sogar negativ. Dieser Trend wurde durch die Covid-Krise noch verstärkt und hat wichtige Auswirkungen auf die Fähigkeit des Staates, den zentralen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts zu begegnen.

Ungleichheit ist eine politische Entscheidung

Seit den 1980er Jahren und ihrer Welle der neoliberalen Deregulierungs- und Liberalisierungsprogramme, hat die Einkommens- und Vermögensungleichheit in fast allen Ländern zugenommen. Da diese Reformen unterschiedlich ausgeprägt waren, war auch der Anstieg der Ungleichheitsraten nicht einheitlich: In einigen Ländern hat die Ungleichheit spektakulär zugenommen (z. B. in den USA, Indien und Russland), während sie in anderen Ländern (in Europa und China) in relativ geringerem Maße zugenommen hat. Diese Unterschiede, die in der letzten Ausgabe des World Inequality Report ausführlich erörtert wurden, bestätigen, dass Ungleichheit nicht unvermeidlich, sondern eine politische Entscheidung ist.

Wie kann Ungleichheit verringert werden?

Angesichts der Dringlichkeit der heutigen Krisen drohen steigende Ungleichheit den Fortschritt in Richtung eines nachhaltigen Wohlstands für alle zu behindern. Doch wie kann Ungleichheit wirksam verringert werden? Dazu erörtert der World Inequality Report 2022 unter Berücksichtigung von Ansätzen aus aller Welt abschließend verschiedene Optionen, darunter progressive Steuern, globale Vermögensregister und unilaterale Abkommen.

Den vollständigen Bericht gibt es hier.

Für eine deutsche Sicht auf die Debatte empfehlen wir diese Forum Studie von Charlotte Bartels und Carsten Schroeder.

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.