The Fall of the Wall and the “Schwarze Null” – Understanding Germany’s Surplus

Review of Chapter 5 in Michael Pettis' and Mathew Klein's “Trade Wars are Class Wars” by Marc Adam

 

There is hardly a new day without news about the deteriorating U.S.-China diplomatic relationship. Four years after the 2016 U.S. presidential election we know that much about the electoral outcome had to do with what is now widely dubbed as “the China shock”.[1] The massive current account surplus that China generated every year over the course of two decades was an important factor in turning the region in the North East of the United States, once an industrial powerhouse, into a hotspot of the dramatic opioid crisis. Once that is being acknowledged, one can reasonably argue that Donald Trump is simply trying to fulfil his campaign promise to the white working-class electorate that pushed him into office. But Klein’s and Pettis’ (K&P) brilliant contribution to the literature that seeks to explain the recent populist backlash to globalization around the world is that they go beyond the inner economic and political developments of deficit countries. Instead, the authors put much responsibility on surplus countries. Their hypothesis is aptly captured by the provoking title “Trade Wars are Class Wars”. Or to restate it in a slightly less radical way, “[t]he thesis of this book is that rising inequality within countries heightens trade conflicts between them.”

Indeed, far from being solely about the U.S.-China trade war, the book seeks a general explanation for the recent drive towards nationalism and deglobalization. To exemplify their hypothesis, the authors dive into another case study: Germany. Although the current account surplus of Germany vis-à-vis the U.S. is relatively small compared to the one of China, this is not true for the European Union as a whole. And as Klein and Pettis convincingly argue, Europe is increasingly emulating Germany since the European debt crisis. From 2012 onwards, Europe adopted the German model that externalized its inner socio-economic problems to the rest of the world and once again the United States had to face “the exorbitant burden” to serve as a global consumer outlet of last resort.

To defend their hypothesis that rising inequality within Germany, exacerbated by false policy responses, contributed to the ills that are threatening our globalized world, the authors first take us back some 30 years to the fall of the Berlin wall. While the Tiananmen square massacre in 1989 upended the Chinese democratic movement and paved the way for China’s own way of economic and political development, the revolution in East Germany peacefully succeeded. In that sense, 1989 is a pivot point for both economies and the German reunification shock is analysed in depth, which is worth a read as we are experiencing its 30th anniversary.

The sections on the reunification process, which East Germany entered with a heavy load of foreign denominated debt and under the pressure of continuous emigration, are reminiscent of Germany’s insistence during the Eurozone crisis that crises torn countries need to undergo reform. The statements of Helmut Kohl in 1990 that “assistance can only prove effective if fundamental reforms of the economic system follow” or that West German taxpayers were not going to pay “to stabilize conditions that have become untenable” echo the sounds of 2012 – 2015 when Wolfgang Schäuble and the Troika took the stage in the Eurozone drama.

At times the reader is wondering whether there is a specific ideology inherent in the German way of economic policy making over the past 30 years. Indeed, given the provocative title of the Book, the chapter title might as well have included a reference to Karl Marx’ and Friedrich Engels’ notorious manuscript “The German Ideology”. It is at the intersection of economics and ideology where chapter 5 is most breathtaking, but also leaves the reader with an open question. What is the causal mechanism that squeezed consumer spending power, increased corporate profits and finally the German current account surplus? Does ideology influence the economic outcome or is ideology itself determined by changes in the economic system? In a recent discussion with Adam Tooze, Matt Klein argued “that it’s a mix of all of these factors. There was an ideological component, and it’s very hard to understand why the choices were made without that, but there were other forces as well.“[2] What Klein and Pettis ultimately seem to suggest is that it’s changes in the distribution of income and wealth that are the main driver, not only of particular economic outcomes, but of the governing economic paradigm as well. As Marx and Engels argued back in 1846: “The ideas of the ruling class are in every epoch the ruling ideas. “

Their main piece of evidence of the class war hypothesis is personified by Peter Hartz, the mastermind behind the notorious Hartz reforms that cut German welfare spending. But what K&P argue is that “[t]he impact of Hartz IV itself is often overstated. Germany’s meagre wage growth and underinvestment were consequences not of welfare cuts, but of choices made in the 1990s by German elites.” Instead, Peter Hartz personifies K&P’s class war hypothesis so much because he had been Head of HR at Volkswagen since 1993 and thereby was part of the export-oriented elite that had pushed for wage cuts throughout the 1990s. The argument is best illustrated in their figure 5.4, which shows that between 1993 and 2007 shareholders appropriated more and more of the net value produced by non-financial businesses.

The increase of profits at the expense of workers was a consequence of the choices made by businesses and government after reunification when inflation was high and the opening up of former Soviet states to the West threatened the movement of manufacturing jobs to Eastern Europe. It was “the German elite’s relentless focus on international competitiveness [that] enabled a massive shift in the balance between workers and the owners of capital.” Years later, during the Eurozone crisis the mantra of international competitiveness was imposed on Germany’s neighbours and the Eurozone as a whole shifted towards a sizeable current account surplus.

Yet, K&P also show that frequently between 1991 and 2007 the German government was constrained to expand spending by institutional structures that have their origin elsewhere. After the short reunification boom, the German government cut spending on infrastructure investment and maintenance by 20 percent between 1992 and 1998. K&P attribute this shift to Germany’s relentless commitment to the Maastricht Treaty of 1992, which provided an iron deficit rule. In 2001, when Germany entered a recession after its short-lived tech boom, the new common European currency prevented Germany from lowering its interest rate. At the same time, the German government was constrained to borrow and boost spending. This time the newly created Stability and Growth Pact (1997) constrained the government budget on top of the Maastricht Treaty.

These factors are hard to explain by increasing inequality within Germany. They can’t even be fully explained by increasing inequality within the Eurozone as a whole, since similar policies were pursued in the UK, the U.S. and elsewhere. They have to be explained by an economic paradigm that dominated all western economies. This paradigm could certainly have been shaped by the ruling class, which became more powerful as inequality increased and K&P convincingly argue that this might indeed be the case. Yet, inequality has been trending upward for at least 10 years before 1989. Whether this initial shift was caused by changes in taxation, financialization or globalization, ideology or economics, remains to be solved.

Overall, K&P provide a convincing narrative that increasing inequality within the industrialized nations is responsible for the nationalist backlash today. Both, the book as a whole and the chapter on Germany in particular are highly recommended for anyone who wants to understand the global political tensions today.

Author: Marc Adam

References

Autor, David H., David Dorn, and Gordon H. Hanson. “The China shock: Learning from labor-market adjustment to large changes in trade.” Annual Review of Economics 8 (2016): 205-240.

Klein, Matthew C., and Michael Pettis. Trade wars are class wars: How rising inequality distorts the global economy and threatens international peace. Yale University Press, 2020.

Marx, Karl, and Friedrich Engels. The german ideology. Vol. 1. International Publishers Co, 1970.

Tooze, Adam. Trade wars are class wars – A discussion between Adam Tooze, Michael Pettis, and Matthew Klein. Phenomenal World, 2020. Available at: https://phenomenalworld.org/interviews/trade-wars-are-class-wars

 

 

 

[1] See e.g. Autor et al (2016)

[2] Tooze (2020)

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Vom Mauerfall zur Schwarzen Null – Woher kommt Deutschlands Leistungsbilanzüberschuss?

Eine Rezension von Kapitel 5 aus Mathew Kleins und Michael Pettis' “Trade Wars are Class Wars” von Marc Adam

 

Kaum ein Tag vergeht ohne Nachrichten über die eskalierenden diplomatischen und wirtschaftlichen Beziehungen zwischen China und den USA. Vier Jahre nach der letzten US Wahl wissen wir, dass viel von Donald Trumps Wahlerfolg mit dem sogenannten „China Schock“ zu tun hat.[1] Der massive Exportüberschuss den China über zwei Jahrzehnte hinweg generierte, flutete die USA mit Waren, die früher im Nord-Osten der USA selbst hergestellt wurden. Die einstige Industrieregion verkam alsbald zum sozialen Brennpunkt und zum Zentrum der Opioid Krise. Sofern man diesen Zusammenhang anerkennt, lässt sich weiter argumentieren, dass Donald Trump mit seinem Handelskrieg gegen China lediglich ein Wahlversprechen bei der weißen Arbeiterklasse im Land einlöst. Der eindrucksvolle Beitrag von Klein und Pettis geht jedoch über die bestehende Literatur hinaus, die den Aufstieg der Rechtsnationalisten in den USA und Europa zu erklären versucht. Denn statt ausschließlich die Entwicklungen im Defizitland USA zu erörtern, werfen die Autoren ein genaues Auge auf jene Länder, die den Überschuss überhaupt erst generieren. Die Verantwortung für den derzeitigen Trend zur Deglobalisierung sehen sie vor allem bei den Überschussländern China und Deutschland. Die Hauptthese des Buches zeigt sich in dem provokanten Titel: Handelskriege sind Klassenkämpfe. Oder um es etwas weniger radikal zu formulieren: „Die These des Buchs ist, dass steigende Ungleichheit innerhalb von Ländern zu Handelskonflikten zwischen ihnen führt.“

Tatsächlich geht es in dem Buch nicht nur um den Handelskrieg zwischen China und den USA. Das Buch versucht dem derzeitigen Trend zurück zum Nationalstaat und weg von der Globalisierung einen allgemeinen Erklärungsansatz entgegenzustellen, weshalb die Autoren Deutschland ein ganzes Kapitel als Fallstudie widmen. Auch wenn der deutsche Leistungsbilanzüberschuss vis-à-vis den USA im Vergleich zu China gering ist, stimmt das nicht für die EU als Ganzes. Und wie Klein und Pettis anschaulich zeigen, ahmt die EU das deutsche Modell spätestens seit der Eurozonenkrise nach. Wie in Deutschland bereits vor der Krise, wurden nun auch im Rest von Europa innere sozioökonomische Probleme externalisiert und die Überschüsse auf den Rest der Welt gespült. Einmal mehr musste die USA die „übermäßige Bürde“ auf sich nehmen und als finaler Absatzmarkt für den globalen Konsum dienen.

Die These, dass steigende Ungleichheit in Deutschland und politische Fehler zur derzeitigen Globalisierungskernschmelze beigetragen haben, untermauern die Autoren indem sie uns 30 Jahre mit zurück zum Fall der Berliner Mauer nehmen. Während 1989 in China die chinesische Demokratiebewegung durch das Tiananmen Massaker zerschlagen wurde, gelang der ostdeutschen Bevölkerung die friedliche Revolution. Das Jahr 1989 wird somit als Schlüsselmoment für die Wirtschaften beider Länder betrachtet. Beide Ereignisse waren prägend für den weiteren wirtschaftlichen Entwicklungspfad und die Abschnitte zum Wiedervereinigungsprozess sind gerade zum 30. Jubiläum äußerst lesenswert.

Die Wiedervereinigung begann die DDR unter dem Druck einer hohen Auslandsverschuldung und Emigration. Mitunter erinnert der Narrativ an die Dramaturgie während der Eurozonenkrise, als sich die Eurokrisenländer dem Reformdruck aus Mittel- und Nordeuropa beugen mussten. Forderungen von Helmut Kohl aus dem Jahr 1990 wie „…wirtschaftliche Hilfe kann nur dann wirksam werden, wenn grundlegende Reformen des Wirtschaftssystems erfolgen“ oder „Wir wollen nicht unhaltbar gewordene Zustände stabilisieren“ erinnern stark an die Rhetorik Wolfgang Schäubles und der Troika zwischen 2012 und 2015.

Streckenweise fragt sich der/die Leser:in, ob es eine bestimmte deutsche Ideologie im Modus Operandi der deutschen Wirtschaftspolitik der letzten 30 Jahre gibt. Tatsächlich hätte man als Kapitelüberschrift wohl auch eine treffende Referenz zu Marx und Engels berüchtigtem Werk „Die deutsche Ideologie“ finden können. Denn es ist gerade die Schnittstelle zwischen Wirtschaftspolitik und Ideologie, die hier am meisten begeistert, aber auch ein paar Fragen offen lässt. Wie genau sind die politischen Entscheidungen zu erklären, die zum Konsumverzicht der Bevölkerung, steigenden Unternehmensprofiten und dem berühmten Exportüberschuss Deutschlands führten? War es die Ideologie und das herrschende wirtschaftspolitische Paradigma, dass zu diesen Entscheidungen führte, oder wird diese Ideologie selbst durch eine Veränderung der materiellen Verhältnisse bestimmt? In einem kürzlich veröffentlichten Interview mit dem Wirtschaftshistoriker Adam Tooze argumentiert Matt Klein, „dass es eine Mischung aus all diesen Faktoren ist. Es gab eine ideologische Komponente und es ist schwer vorstellbar, wie bestimmte Entscheidungen ohne diese getroffen werden konnten. Aber es gab auch andere Faktoren.“ [2]

Was Klein und Pettis (KP) schlussendlich suggerieren ist, dass es Veränderungen in der Einkommens- und Vermögensverteilung sind, die nicht nur die Struktur der Wirtschaft, sondern auch das vorherrschende ökonomische Leitmotiv verändern. Wie Marx und Engls in 1846 schrieben: „Die Gedanken der herrschenden Klasse sind in jeder Epoche die herrschenden Gedanken.“

Die Beweislage ihrer Klassenkampfthese wird u.a. durch Peter Hartz, dem Vorsitzenden der Hartz-Kommission von 2002, veranschaulicht. Zwar ist Peter Hartz vor allem als Vordenker der berüchtigten Hartz Reformen bekannt, aber KPs Punkt ist ein anderer: „Die Bedeutung von Hartz IV wird oft überschätzt. Deutschlands mageres Lohnwachstum und Unterinvestitionen waren keine Folgen von Kürzungen der Sozialleistungen, sondern von Entscheidungen, die in den 1990er Jahren getroffen wurden.“ Denn Peter Hartz verkörpert KPs These vor allem, weil er von 1993 an Personalchef von Volkswagen und damit Teil jener exportorientierten Elite war, die in den 90er Jahren Lohnkürzungen durchsetzten. Das Hauptargument stellt sich anschaulich in Abbildung 5.4 dar. Die Abbildung zeigt, dass sich Anteilseigner zwischen 1993 und 2007 mehr und mehr vom Ertragswert nicht-finanzieller Unternehmen angeeignet haben.

Die Gewinnsteigerung auf Kosten der Arbeitnehmer ist auf Entscheidungen der Unternehmen und der Regierung im Zuge der Wiedervereinigung zurückzuführen. Durch die wirtschaftliche Öffnung ehemaliger Sowjetstaaten entstand die Gefahr, dass Unternehmen Arbeitsplätze nach Osteuropa auslagern würden. „Die unermüdliche Fokussierung der deutschen Elite auf internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit ermöglichte eine massive Verschiebung des Gleichgewichts zwischen Arbeitern und Kapitalbesitzern.“ Jahre später, im Zuge der Eurokrise, wurde Deutschlands Mantra der internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit seinen Nachbarn eingeschärft und die Eurozone als Ganzes fing an einen beträchtlichen Leistungsbilanzüberschusses zu produzieren.

Jedoch beschreiben KP auch ausführlich jene institutionellen Zwänge, die die Bundesregierung zwischen 1991 und 2007 zum Sparen zwangen. Diese institutionellen Strukturen stützen die These der Autoren aber nur bedingt, da sie nicht nationalen Ursprungs sind. Die institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen, die eine Erhöhung der Staatsausgaben verhinderten, finden sich auf europäischer Ebene und können nur bedingt durch höhere Ungleichheit innerhalb Deutschlands erklärt werden. Den Fall der staatlichen Investitionen in Infrastruktur und Instandhaltung um 20 Prozent zwischen 1992 und 1998 etwa, führen KP auf Deutschlands unermüdliches Engagement zur Einhaltung der Konvergenzkriterien im Vertrag von Maastricht von 1992 zurück. Als Deutschland 2001 in eine Rezession schlitterte, verhinderte die neue gemeinsame europäische Währung, dass Deutschland seine Zinslast senken konnte. Gleichzeitig war die Bundesregierung in ihrer Kreditaufnahme und Konjunkturankurbelung gehemmt. Diesmal deckelte der neu geschaffene Stabilitäts- und Wachstumspakt (1997) den Staatshaushalt zusätzlich zu den Maastricht-Kriterien.

Diese Faktoren sind mit steigender Ungleichheit in Deutschland allein nur schwer zu erklären. Selbst der Anstieg der Ungleichheit innerhalb der gesamten Eurozone reicht als Erklärung nicht aus, da ähnliche politische Umwälzungen in Großbritannien, den USA und anderswo stattfanden. Institutionen wie der Vertrag von Maastricht wurden innerhalb eines wirtschaftspolitischen Paradigmas geschaffen, das alle westlichen Volkswirtschaften dominierte. Dieses Paradigma könnte sicherlich von der herrschenden Klasse geprägt worden sein, die mit zunehmender Ungleichheit an Einfluss gewann und KP stellen überzeugend dar, dass dies tatsächlich der Fall gewesen sein könnte. Der Anstieg der Ungleichheit in den westlichen Industrienationen lässt sich jedoch mindestens seit den frühen 80er Jahren beobachten, was fast eine Dekade vor dem Schlüsseljahr 1989 liegt. Ob diese ursprüngliche Verschiebung in der Einkommens- und Vermögensverteilung auf Steuerreformen, Finanzialisierung, Globalisierung oder eine bestimmte Ideologie zurückzuführen ist bleibt ungeklärt.

Insgesamt überzeugt KPs Narrativ, dass zunehmende Ungleichheit innerhalb der Industrienationen für die heutige nationalistische Gegenreaktion verantwortlich ist. Das gesamte Buch und insbesondere das Kapitel über Deutschland sind all jenen zu empfehlen, die die globalen politischen Spannungen von heute verstehen möchte.

Autor: Marc Adam

[1] Vgl. z.Bsp. Autor et al (2016)

[2] Tooze (2020)

 

Refrenzen

Autor, David H., David Dorn, and Gordon H. Hanson. „The China shock: Learning from labor-market adjustment to large changes in trade.“ Annual Review of Economics 8 (2016): 205-240.

Klein, Matthew C., and Michael Pettis. Trade wars are class wars: How rising inequality distorts the global economy and threatens international peace. Yale University Press, 2020.

Marx, Karl, and Friedrich Engels. The german ideology. Vol. 1. International Publishers Co, 1970.

Tooze, Adam. Trade wars are class wars – A discussion between Adam Tooze, Michael Pettis, and Matthew Klein. Phenomenal World, 2020. Available at: https://phenomenalworld.org/interviews/trade-wars-are-class-wars

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.