Towards new fiscal rules for the euro zone?

Prominent French economists around Macron have written a reform proposal for the European Stability and Growth Pact and have discussed it at the VIII. New Paradigm Workshop.

 

In a policy paper for the Conseil d’analyse économique (CAE), French economists Philippe Martin, Jean Pisani-Ferry and Xavier Ragot developed a reform proposal for the European fiscal framework. Among other things, they call for the abolition of the rigid percentage limits and the criterion of measuring debt on the basis of economic performance, to allow the individual member states more flexibility in their budget planning, and to achieve better fiscal policy coordination within the Eurozone by taking greater account of macroeconomic imbalances.

What are the chances of this quasi-official French proposition? How should and will the new German government position itself on this issue? These questions were discussed at the VIII. New Paradigm Workshop.

The study’s authors have first presented their reform proposal. Participants in the subsequent discussion were Annamaria Simonazzi, economics professor at the Sapienza University of Rome, the Head of the European Department at the Ministry of Finance Thomas Westphal, and the Bruegel Director Guntram Wolff. The session was moderated by Martin Sandbu (Financial Times).

Rewatch the session here

The French proposal

The original proposal in French can be read here.

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Towards new fiscal rules for the euro zone?

Prominente französische Ökonomen um Macron haben einen Reformvorschlag für den Europäischen Stabilitäts- und Wachstumspakt verfasst und auf dem VIII. New Paradigm Workshop diskutiert.

 

In einem Policy Paper für den Conseil d’analyse économique (CAE) haben die französischen Ökonomen Philippe Martin, Jean Pisani-Ferry und Xavier Ragot einen Reformvorschlag für den europäischen Fiskalrahmen entwickelt. Sie fordern unter anderem die Abschaffung der starren prozentualen Grenzen und des Kriteriums, die Verschuldung anhand der Wirtschaftsleistung zu messen, den einzelnen Mitgliedsstaaten mehr Flexibilität bei der Haushaltsplanung zuzugestehen und eine bessere fiskalpolitische Koordination innerhalb der Eurozone durch eine stärkere Berücksichtigung der makroökonomischen Ungleichgewichte zu erreichen.

Wie stehen die Chancen für diesen quasi-offiziellen französischen Vorschlag? Wie sollte und wird sich die neue deutsche Regierung zu diesem Thema positionieren? Diese Fragen wurden auf dem VIII. New Paradigm Workshop diskutiert.

Die Autoren der Studie haben zunächst ihren Reformvorschlag vorgestellt. Teilnehmer der anschließenden Diskussion waren Annamaria Simonazzi, Wirtschaftsprofessorin an der Sapienza Universität Rom, der Leiter der Europaabteilung im Finanzministerium Thomas Westphal und der Bruegel Direktor Guntram Wolff. Die Sitzung wurde von Martin Sandbu (Financial Times) moderiert.

Die ganze Sitzung können Sie hier nachschauen

Der französische Vorschlag

Den Originalvorschlag in französischer Sprache können Sie hier nachlesen.

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.