New Fiscal Rules for Europe?

Prominent French economists around President Macron are calling for a reform of the European Stability and Growth Pact, causing much excitement in Brussels and Berlin.

 

In a policy paper for the Conseil d’analyse économique (CAE), French economists Philippe Martin, Jean Pisani-Ferry and Xavier Ragot developed a reform proposal for the European fiscal framework. Among other things, they call for the abolition of the rigid percentage limits and the criterion of measuring debt on the basis of economic performance, to allow the individual member states more flexibility in their budget planning, and to achieve better fiscal policy coordination within the Eurozone by taking greater account of macroeconomic imbalances.

That French President Macron does not think much of the Stability Pact, which he described as a “relic of the 20th century”, is well known. The proposal of the French economists could now bring with it the necessary tailwind to implement a reform during the French Council Presidency in 2022. However, the attitude of other European states will be decisive for this – first and foremost Germany’s. How should the new German government position itself on this issue? This will be discussed next week at the VIII. New Paradigm Workshop in a session on 26 May 2021 from 5pm.

Two of the study’s authors, CAE President Philippe Martin and Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) Research Director Xavier Ragot, will first present their reform proposal. Participants in the subsequent discussion will be Margit Schratzenstaller, economist at WIFO and and member of the Austrian Fiscal Council, Annamaria Simonazzi, economics professor at the Sapienza University of Rome, the Head of the European Department at the Ministry of Finance Thomas Westphal, and the Bruegel Director Guntram Wolff. The session will be moderated by Martin Sandbu (Financial Times).

The original full proposal in French can be read here.

You can register for the workshop here.

We use cookies to provide you with the best possible service. When you continue browsing the site, you consent to the use of cookies. More info.

Neue Fiskalregeln für Europa?

Prominente französische Ökonomen rund um Präsident Macron fordern eine Reform des europäischen Stabilitätspaktes und sorgen damit für viel Aufregung in Brüssel und Berlin.

 

In einem Policypapier für das Conseil d’analyse économique (CAE) haben französische Ökonomen Philippe Martin, Jean Pisani-Ferry und Xavier Ragot einen Reformvorschlag für die europäischen Schuldenregeln erarbeitet. Darin fordern sie unter anderem, die starren Prozent-Grenzen und das Kriterium der Schuldenmessung anhand der Wirtschaftsleistung aufzuheben, den einzelnen Mitgliedsstaaten mehr Flexibilität bei ihrer Haushaltsplanung zu ermöglichen, und eine bessere fiskalpolitische Koordination innerhalb der Eurozone durch stärkere Berücksichtigung makroökonomischer Ungleichgewichte zu erreichen.

Dass der französische Staatspräsident Macron nicht viel von dem Stabilitätspakt hält, den er als „Relikt des 20. Jahrhunderts“ bezeichnete, ist schon länger bekannt. Der Vorschlag der französischen Ökonomen könnte jetzt nochmal den nötigen Rückenwind mit sich bringen, um eine Reform während der französischen Ratspräsidentschaft 2022 zu umzusetzen. Dafür wird jedoch die Einstellung anderer europäischer Staaten maßgeblich sein – allen voran Deutschland. Wie sollte sich die neue Bundesregierung zu dieser Frage positionieren? Das wird nächste Woche auf dem VIII. New Paradigm Workshop in einer Session am 26. Mai 2021 ab 17:00 diskutiert.

Zwei der Autoren der Studie, der Präsident des CAE Philippe Martin und der Forschungsdirektor des Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS) Xavier Ragot, werden zunächst ihren Reformvorschlag vorstellen. An der anschließenden Diskussion nehmen Margit Schratzenstaller, Ökonomin am WIFO und und Mitglied des österreichischen Fiskalrats, Annamaria Simonazzi, VWL-Professorin an der Sapienza Universität Rom, der Leiter der Europaabteilung im Finanzministerium Thomas Westphal, und der Bruegel-Direktor Guntram Wolff. Moderiert wird die Session von Martin Sandbu (Financial Times).

Den originalen Beitrag auf französisch finden Sie hier.

Hier können Sie sich für den Workshop anmelden.

Diese Webseite verwendet u.a. Cookies zur Analyse und Verbesserung der Webseite, zum Ausspielen personalisierter Anzeigen und zum Teilen von Artikeln in sozialen Netzwerken. Unter Datenschutz erhalten Sie weitere Informationen und Möglichkeiten, diese Cookies auszuschalten.